Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 32 – But is it Art?

This week we catch up with the famous Scout of Scout’s Swag. For a wonderful interview about dyeing and her work. It’s lots of fun.

For some reason I can’t get WordPress to upload the new photo of the Henry VIII jumper, but if you go to the Flickr photos below, it’s in there (it’s also in my Ravelry projects).

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Studio 49 Fibre Retreat   A fibre arts retreat that Old Oak Ranch Sonora 16 to 18 November 2007 (pendria AT sbcglobal DOT net)
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Ehren Starks   

  You are the You    

  (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Other
Vogue Knitting 25th Anniversary Issue  from Vogue Knitting (link)

Next week – maybe some information about Fair Isle technique, but I’m still working on that so no promises yet.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or

podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au

I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.

I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

12 August 2007 - Posted by | knitting

10 Comments »

  1. Nice show. I was interested to hear how Scout dyed her yarn, I have done some dyeing beforebut only fabric, never yarn! I am saving up for one of her knitting bags!

    Comment by Whskr | 13 August 2007

  2. I’m always glad to hear you back after each break, and it’s great to see the progress on Henry. It’s a gorgeous sweater and I’m now tempted to add a good fair-isle to my queue.

    Looking forward to the creativity series – such a great theme!

    Thanks –
    Debra
    aka JavaNut

    Comment by JavaNut | 14 August 2007

  3. Oh I can’t wait to hear it! I just got back from vacation so it looks like I have some catching up to do!

    Comment by scout | 14 August 2007

  4. Hi David,

    Really enjoyed the interview with Scout — particularly since I’d spent the day at a dyeing seminar! I didn’t think I could ever dye my own, but it’s so muich fun it’s addictive!

    Thanks!

    Comment by Deb | 16 August 2007

  5. Hello David

    Henry VIII is marvolous! The colors are royal and rich, they suit the project. Your podcast rounds out my weekend nicely. Thanks for all the work you put into your production. You can tell that you enjoy putting it out for us!

    Kim

    Comment by Kim | 19 August 2007

  6. Love your podcast. Thanks for making this world so much more interesting.

    See you on Ravelry!

    Comment by Thea | 21 August 2007

  7. […] I’m so lucky to know her, even though we’ve yet to meet in person. Did you hear her on Sticks and String? She mentions on her blog that she also just recorded an interview with another popular podcast […]

    Pingback by hizKNITS » Blog Archive » Corporate Yarn | 22 August 2007

  8. After your comments on the VK, I checked the price on mine: CAD 8.50, which I think is just 50 cents more than usual. However, I used to mail copies to a friend in Europe, which cost a bomb, so shipping is also an issue. She has subscribed, which is cheaper…especially for me!
    I always enjoy your podcast–you have excellent interview technique!

    Comment by grannypurple | 24 August 2007

  9. On the topic of knitting and art and is it art? I thought you might enjoy some knitting that definitely is art. Hope this link works. Suzen is very cool and her approach to knitting and art is unique.

    Comment by marnie | 17 September 2007

  10. I guess the link didn’t work. It’s Suzen Green and her blog is “On Gauge” The project is called Yarnover.

    Comment by marnie | 17 September 2007


Leave a comment