Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 31 – The Spark

G’day everyone, welcome to series 4.
A big thank you to everyone who has been in contact, and to everyone who helped get the show over the 100,000 download mark.
A very big thanks to Valerie of Valutree for the wonderful knitting bag she sent (details below), and to coldfriday for the yarn for Alice Starmore’s Henry VIII jumper which will be our companion throughout the series.

This week’s interview is with Marnie Kelly of Touch Yarns from New Zealand about the wonderful hand dyed yarns she makes.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Studio 49 Fibre Retreat   A fibre arts retreat that Old Oak Ranch Sonora 16 to 18 November 2007 (pendria AT sbcglobal DOT net)
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Ehren Starks    Leaving the Theatre     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Other
Handmade Knitting Bag  from Valutree (link)

Next week, we’ll have an interview with Scout of Scout’s Swag an update on Henry and probably a whole pile of things that will come up during the week.

henry-viii-1.gifhenry-viii-2.gif

Henry VIII jumper under construction.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

5 August 2007 - Posted by | knitting

9 Comments »

  1. Yay, a new episode!

    I’ve never left you a comment before, but I’ve been listening for a while now and always enjoy your podcast.

    I had to finish the new HP very quickly too, for fear of being spoiled online. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about your Henry VIII — it’s one of the sweaters waaay down on my to knit list, for when I’m ready for some serious Fair Isle.

    Comment by Annkari | 6 August 2007

  2. Oh thank goodness!! I saw the show start to download in iTune and gave a little cheer.

    Welcome back, off to listen to the show AND the interview with ‘Touch’ yarns. I have two balls of their wool AND I joined Ravelry.

    Haven’t made you a friend yet, it seems a bit of an imposition (not sure why!!!!) Maybe I should……

    Comment by Whskr | 6 August 2007

  3. David, good to have you back. I enjoyed hearing Marnie Kelly, I bought some of her yarns at the show, she has a great sense of colour. Love the way you always finish with a blooper 😉

    Comment by Kerry | 6 August 2007

  4. Thanks for another great program David! So good to hear your voice again, and the Henry VII jumper looks amazing. I can’t wait to see how it progresses.

    Comment by JenMuse | 7 August 2007

  5. Welcome back!! It is so good to see Series 4 up! Can’t wait to see what this series brings!!

    The Henry jumper looks fantastic!!

    Comment by Cathy | 7 August 2007

  6. Hi David. A friend of mine introduced me to your podcast and I have been dilligently downloading and listening to all of your podcasts. I have a friend who lives in Melbourne so it’s nice to listen to someone else who lives in that hemisphere as well.

    Your Henry sweater looks great!

    Liz in Minnesota who is still waiting for her Ravelry invite…..

    Comment by Liz | 9 August 2007

  7. Welcome back! I loved this version of the theme song and look forward to hearing the other variations you have in store for us.

    I also plowed through HP7. I didn’t watch TV, listen to the radio, or go online until I was finished with it. Luckily, I’m a fast reader and was done in about 24 hours (with two breaks for sleeping). I’m re-reading the whole series now and catching a lot of little details now that I know how it all turns out.

    Comment by Kathy | 10 August 2007

  8. Love your podcast, David. I;m an English.Reading teacher too. Love to hear about your Winter while we boil away at 97 degrees F. I learn so much from you and you have a great voice.
    Cindy, Asheville, North Carolina, USA

    Comment by Cynthia Allison | 12 August 2007

  9. That sweater is amazing, and it’s just started. I can’t wait to see pictures as it goes farther along.

    Comment by Rebecca | 13 August 2007


Leave a Reply

