Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 28 – Knittin’ Time

Just to frighten everyone, it’s only six months to Christmas, but I’m sure everyone’s Christmas knitting is well underway.
Reg Scott spoke to us about his angora goats and mohair.
The Flinders Island Fleece site is here
Here’s the Winter Magic site if you missed it.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Studio 49 Fibre Retreat   A fibre arts retreat that Old Oak Ranch Sonora 16 to 18 November 2007 (pendria AT sbcglobal DOT net)
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Heavy Mellow    Delight     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
The Complete Peanuts  by Charles M. Schulz (link)
Tudor Roses  by Alice Starmore (link)

Once again, a big thank you to Ann Westren for the Easter Show knitting tour.
The Institute for Figuring’s reef is here. And the Chicago event on 29 June is here.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.
Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

24 June 2007 - Posted by | knitting

9 Comments »

  1. Aaaah! I’m sure *you* are organized enough to have all your Xmas knitting already planned and on the needles, Mr David, but some of us had a mini-panic attack when they realized you are right, and I need to get my pattern plans in order for the holidays! *huge grin*

    Comment by Liz | 25 June 2007

  2. Hello David, I can’t get the show to even show up in itunes, I must have clicked that refresh button over 15 times now, no luck. I did end up listening to the show via the direct link on this page- it is too good to wait! 🙂 Thanks again for a great show- I like the current series a lot!
    Nadine (also working on report cards)

    Comment by Nadine | 25 June 2007

  3. I just found your podcast and your site.. IT’s incredible..What a joy to listen to as I sit and knit.

    Thank you so much for producing such a great cast.

    Comment by Bellina | 26 June 2007

  4. Just discovered your site via Ireland. Love that I can crochet whilst listening to your interesting program. So glad to hear you mentioning The IFF. At the moment I am working on a sculpture which will be part of the “Rubbish Vortex” exhibition in conjunction with the “Crochet Coral Reef” exhibition at the LACE Gallery in Los Angeles, Jan 2008.
    I’ll be coming back soon to hear more. Thanks.

    Cheers,
    Helle

    http://hellejorgensen.typepad.com

    Comment by helle | 26 June 2007

  5. Thanks again david for a great podcast.And may i say i loved learning about all the knitting at the show with anne
    thank you again
    Big crafty hugs
    Peta

    Comment by Peta | 27 June 2007

  6. Hello David! Just wanted pop on over and say hello from sunny California and to let you know how much I’m enjoying your podcasts. I can’t wait for your next episode!

    La
    http://www.knottygirls.com/jenla.blog

    Comment by La | 28 June 2007

  7. Hello David! I have been so inspired by your podcasts that I finally started my own blog as well. Who knows, I may even start riding the train to work. But I wouldn’t want you to think I’m imitating you or anything.
    Cheers,
    Roberta

    Comment by Roberta | 28 June 2007

  8. David, I never miss a podcast. After being away from knitting for over 20 years, I enjoy so much the 21st century aids to the craft – podcasts, online shopping, online research, instructional videos via computer, blogs that detail the experiences of others, knitting reviews, etc. And of all the podcasts I have heard, I appreciate most the methodical, measured approach you employ. I appreciate your philosophical outlook which includes, among other things, the feeling that we are enriched by the learning experience and we can share our knowledge with the community – which, in a global economy and age of technology, can span the entire world!
    Thanks for the effort you put into your podcasts. It is much appreciated.
    Rose Dyer

    Comment by Rose Dyer | 30 June 2007

  9. Thanks for the thoughtful essay this week David. It really got me thinking, so much so, it inspired my own blog post this week. See, you really do reach out around the world!

    Comment by Mandella | 2 July 2007


Leave a comment