Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 27 – Wearing in Public

Chris Taylor Lace 1Chris Taylor Lace 2Chris Taylor Lace 3

This week we visit Chris Taylor of Dendendaloom Alpacas, and I get to meet yet more really cute animals. Yes, there are photos. If you’d like to contact Chris, you can email him at dendendaloom AT aol DOT com (you know how to replace the symbols).

Dendendaloom Alpacas 1Dendendaloom Alpacas 2Dendendaloom Alpacas 3Dendendaloom Alpacas 4Dendendaloom Alpacas 5
If you’re in Brisbane and have a knitting group happening over the next few weeks could you let me know, I’ll pass the details on to Marya who’s visiting.

This show’s music
Plunkett    The River     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Knit Fix – Problem Solving for Knitters  by Lisa Kartus (link)

Once again, a big thank you to Ann Westren for the Easter Show knitting tour.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

17 June 2007 - Posted by | knitting

29 Comments »

  1. Hello.

    Thanks for another great show. 🙂

    I have tried to leave a comment in your new blog, I don’t think it worked….

    Comment by turvid | 18 June 2007 | Reply

  2. This episode is not showing up on iTunes – I tried various times during the day (Sunday/PST). However, I needed my “fix” so listened to it by doing a direct download from this site. I love love love your podcast and look forward to it every week!

    Comment by Diane | 18 June 2007 | Reply

  3. I left a comment at your new site, David, and got the message the the combination of display name and email address was not valid. Hope this helps you.

    Comment by Kerry | 18 June 2007 | Reply

  4. I just left a comment on the new site. Came here to let you know for sure that way you will know even if it does not show up on there.
    There is another technique for fixing cables. Here is the link to a nice tutorial:
    http://www.januaryone.com/archives/2007/01/janice_and_marge.php

    Let us know if you fixed yours.

    Comment by Laritza | 18 June 2007 | Reply

  5. I love the little map! (I’m afraid blinking graphics delight me way more than they ought to). I couldn’t leave the comment on the .org site because it required that I have a vaild username/email combination but wouldn’t let me join in that section.

    Just as I was listening to the section about those little mistakes I realized that I\’d managed to add 3 extra sts to the lace pattern in one of the joins of the socks I was working – oops…

    Comment by Lady O | 19 June 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi David – tried to leave a comment on sticksandstring.org and it gives me this error message “That combination of display name and email is not valid.”

    Comment by Tracie | 19 June 2007 | Reply

  7. Good morning from sunny southern Oregon! I tried to leave a comment on your new site and got the same error as Kerry. Otherwise, it’s looking good! It was a treat for me to have a new episode of Sticks & String to start my day off with.

    Comment by Chelsea | 19 June 2007 | Reply

  8. I’ve used the cable repair method that Laritza linked to in her comment, and it works great.

    Comment by Tan | 19 June 2007 | Reply

  9. Hi David! I tried to leave a comment on your new site too, and got the same error message as Kerry. (I’m a first-time “commenter”, by the way, and I love your podcast! Thanks!)

    Comment by Sarah | 19 June 2007 | Reply

  10. Ditto what Kerry wrote. Also, on the .org site, your apostrophes look like question marks to me (using Firefox).

    Hope the coding goes well.

    cheers!

    Comment by Auntly H | 20 June 2007 | Reply

  11. Hey there! Listen, no worries on the funny cable cross on your sleeve. If you go back to maybe two or so years ago and look at covers of Vogue Knitting, there’s a pretty blue sweater shown, oh how lovely, nice blue, nice, hey wait a minute, big honkin’ messed up cable cross right there!

    I *loved* it! And precisely for the reason you left yours. It marked a special spot where maybe the knitter was talking to a friend, or listening to something on the news, or whatever.

    Long live the boo boo!

    Witt
    Winchester, VA

    Comment by Witt | 20 June 2007 | Reply

  12. I really enjoy your podcasts! Yours is the first I listen to each new week.

    You said that you had trouble coming up with a topic for this week’s essay. In the spirit of helping, I just wanted to offer up a question that I am always asking… How do you find the time to knit?

    Comment by Becky | 20 June 2007 | Reply

  13. I tried too! Alas no luck. The map is way cool!!

    Comment by knitkim | 20 June 2007 | Reply

  14. Hi david,
    I just wanted to thank you for the great pod casts that you do and its great to have an australian out there with all the other great knitting pods cast

    Big crafty Hugs

    Comment by Peta | 20 June 2007 | Reply

  15. Hi David,
    Came by to check out your new website and leave a comment like you asked…didn’t work…something about the combo of name and email addy.
    Did you know that all the show stuff is crammed into a 50mm strip down the left side of the page? Unless this is a design feature.

    Donna in Canada
    PS Keep up the great work. I adore your podcast and it is on my favorites list. Thanks for taking the time to keep us knitters informed and amused.

    Comment by Donna | 20 June 2007 | Reply

  16. I can’t thank you enough for your podcast. Yours is one of two (CraftLit being the other) whose opening music can calm me down no matter what kind of day I’ve been having. I’m a high school teacher as well and I can’t wait to be out of exams (this is the last week) so there is more knitting time. Thanks again for making my week!

    Comment by Sner | 21 June 2007 | Reply

  17. Here is a fix for miscrossed cables that does not require laddering down and reknitting. It’s a Yarn Harlot stroke of genius. I have to admit I have not tried it, but I saved off the web page with photos because I am sure I will try it one day soon.
    http://www.yarnharlot.ca/blog/archives/2006/06/20/all_is_not_lost.html

    If you try it, please report!

    Comment by CarolineF | 21 June 2007 | Reply

  18. PS you have to scroll down to ‘Desperate Measures’, as obviously we are not talking about the ‘proper way’….

    Comment by CarolineF | 21 June 2007 | Reply

  19. David,

    I’ve really been enjoying your podcast, and this week’s essay really spoke to me. Please keep up the great work. Your podcast is great company knitting on the train to and from work.

    -Lauren in Maryland, USA

    Comment by Lauren | 21 June 2007 | Reply

  20. David, I’ve just discovered your blog and am enjoying it immensely! Your blog & podcast are right up there with Yarn Harlot for sheer enjoyment. Keep up the good work!
    Roberta in Gilroy
    “Garlic capital of the world”
    –all my knitting is 10% cat hair. deal with it.

    Comment by Roberta | 21 June 2007 | Reply

  21. loved sharing my early morning walk on the beach with you.
    thank you for another wonderful and thoughtful show.

    Comment by profbookwurmknits | 21 June 2007 | Reply

  22. Hi, tried to leave an email on your new website. It didn’t like my email address! I got a message asking for a valid email address. Interesting……
    By the way, I really enjoy listening to your podacasts.
    Best wishes.

    Comment by Mandy | 22 June 2007 | Reply

  23. Great show. I was very interested in the alpaca’s I didn’t really know what they looked like. I know they looked similar to lama’s but not. Now I know where my fav yarn comes from.

    Comment by Melinda | 22 June 2007 | Reply

  24. Love the show, thanks! (I left a comment at the other blog, but I don’t think it took…)

    Comment by Catherine | 23 June 2007 | Reply

  25. Hey David, don’t forget to put up those pictures of the show! You know the ones you keep forgetting?
    Just a reminder.

    Comment by Tonya Leach-trickel | 24 June 2007 | Reply

  26. Your podcast is my absolute favorite! I wait anxiously each week for the new episode.
    I tried to leave a comment on the new website but got the same response as others about invalid email and display name.

    Comment by Brenda | 24 June 2007 | Reply

  27. I greatly enjoyed the podcast in spite of the fact I got it later as my modem faded quietly away into the night.

    I love the little lights on the new map thingy, it’s fun to be a dot on NZ – AND – I finally got an invite to Ravelry!! Now I can upload my scarf yaaaay!!!!! and be the 8th person in New Zealand. Only 8 of us in Ravelry – better mention it on my blog and Etsy page.

    Tonya is right – don’t forget to put up the pictures – I would love to see those sweaters as the lady was so knowledgeable and it was a joy to listen to her. Oh I do like your sweater wool though, quite beautiful!

    I shall miss your podcast when you go for a break but it will be good for us all to have a rest.

    Oh and I have you to thank for the fact that I now sell stuff in a shop (not knitting though).

    Comment by Whskr | 4 July 2007 | Reply

  28. Oh and knit up that cashmere I really want to know what it’s like.

    Comment by Whskr | 4 July 2007 | Reply

  29. AND I forgot – Touch Yarns, I found them at the wonderful Knitting and Stitching Show at Alexandra Palace in the U.K.

    Now we live in New Zealand and I am closer to my own favourite yarn and YES the colours are sensational!!!

    Comment by Whskr | 4 July 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

