Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 135 – Knitting software

If you’d like to take up the Audible offer of a free trial account and a free book, click here.
And of course Sally joins us for the beginning of the Easter Show knitting review. Don’t forget to drop her a line.
The information for World Wide Knit In Public day is here.
And the Tour de Fleece is coming up!

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division) 3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Daniel Estrem Moonlight Sonata (Magnatune)


Reverie by Daniel Estrem

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
My Amazon wish list is here.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

6 June 2010 - Posted by | knitting

5 Comments »

  1. I enjoy using Knitminder, an ipod app that allows me to post the patterns I am using, the yarn in my stash and the projects I am working on. It’s easy to post progress notes and I do, often enough to see the complete history of a project. It;s easy to post pictures as I go. And I do use the counters. As I often have several copies of a pattern I am using, I go to my ipod for the actual row I’m supposed to be on. As my ipod touch is with me more than my computer, I update more frequently than I do on Ravelry.

    Comment by Jackie Siegel | 7 June 2010

  2. The knitting app I use in my iPhone, KnitBuddy, has a very nice setting which makes it possible to disable auto lock. So the app is always on, whick makes using the counter features much nicer and useful.

    Comment by Cristina | 7 June 2010

  3. I am from the US but will be flying to Guatemala on Knit In Public Day. I haven’t figured out yet if I’ll be able to take my knitting…but if so, I’ll be knitting in Guatemala!

    Comment by bashtree | 8 June 2010

  4. Good morning!

    Just a quick note to let you know how much I’ve enjoyed listening to your podcasts. I’m down to one “old” podcast – and then I’ll have listened to the entire lot! What a journey!!

    I especially enjoy the ones pertaining to the Easter Show. We have nothing remotely similar to this event here in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA. Love Sally’s reviews. So glad she’s recovering and doing better!

    Love hearing the cats in the background…

    Especially enjoy the musical selections. I do love Valvaldi!!

    Thanks for a wonderful podcast!

    Susan Roberts

    Comment by Susan Roberts | 12 June 2010

  5. Love your podcast. You talked about knitting patterns and the iphone/ipad. With the new bookshelf app, you can email yourself patterns in pdf format and save them to your bookshelf and open them like a book.The app is free and so is the Winnie the pooh book. The app runs in full color, unlike the grayscale from kindle.
    Anne in St George, SC

    Comment by Anne | 9 July 2010


Leave a comment