Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 72 – Nothing

This week there’s a chat with Mandie Chandler of Ewe Give Me The Knits.

The drum carder get a mention.
The Australian Government is reviewing Aviation Security Screening and is asking for submissions, so if you’d like to let them know your opinion of the ban on knitting needles on aircraft the document is here. The addresses and things are on the document – the section mentioning knitting needles is on page 12.

What’s happening
Beyond Knitting & Crocheted Reef and Anemone Garde   17 June to 24 August at the San Jose Museum of Quilts and Textiles
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Canowindra Group)   10am, 2nd Saturday of each month at Glasonbury, Longs Corner Road, Canowindra
Perth City Nits   Every second Saturday – Boarders Hay Street Mall, Perth

This show’s music
Rob Costlow    Tulip Trees from Reconstruction     (Magnatune)

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

10 August 2008 - Posted by | knitting

9 Comments »

  1. Hi David,
    Information on permitted travel items for U.S. travelers can be found on the http://www.TSA.gov website: http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/prohibited/permitted-prohibited-items.shtm#4
    (under “Makeup, Medication, Personal Items & Special Needs Devices)

    Knitting needles are permitted as carry on and in checked baggage but I’ve heard that this really depends on the TSA agent that you end up with in the security line. I print out the TSA list and travel with it just in case. But I would not try to carry on my expensive needles.
    Good luck with your petition David. Can’t wait for the next show.

    Comment by Rosie | 13 August 2008

  2. What? No comments? Everyone must be using email and Ravelry nowdays. Thanks for the great episode. Your essay was wonderful and it was so good to hear your sweet Aussie voice again! Weather in Wisconsin is so beautiful now. There’s almost…not quite…the smell of autumn in the air. Podcast onward!
    Sara

    Comment by Sara in WI | 13 August 2008

  3. Silly question – have you tried using akismet for the comment spam problem?

    Comment by Lara | 13 August 2008

  4. P.s. You might have fixed it by now, I am about a year behind on all my podcasts, but I did listen to a few on the road to Gundagai 😉

    Comment by Lara | 13 August 2008

  5. ok….am sitting on the beach in Maryland, knitting and listening to your podcast….LOVE it!! You are on the other side of the planet and I feel like you are sitting right here as I watch the Atlantic ocean!!!
    Kisses,
    Kathleen

    Comment by kathleen | 14 August 2008

  6. I love your podcast…tried to leave a comment earlier from my iphone but don’t think it went through…I just wanted to tell you that I was sitting in my beach chair on the shore of the Atlantic Ocean in Maryland…enjoying the sunny weather, knitting and listening to your podcast (my first!)…and I just got to thinking..wow..here I am a half a world away and I feel like I am in your living room….awesome…just awesome.

    Comment by Kathleen | 15 August 2008

  7. I am delighted to hear that the knitting needle ban is up for review! There is no anguish quite like spending seventeen hours on a plane without any knitting. We might make the journey again this fall (your spring), and it would be such a comfort to have a sock to work on…

    Comment by Beth S. | 15 August 2008

  8. Great podcast. I’ve delurked to send you the Canadian website: http://www.catsa-acsta.gc.ca/english/travel_voyage/list.shtml. You’ll find knitting needles permitted under Penetrating Objects.

    Comment by Veronica | 19 August 2008

  9. I just got to this episode in iTunes, and I thought you’d like to know, it’s only 10 minutes long…

    Comment by Marlene | 17 October 2008


Leave a comment