Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 69 – Jared Flood

This week knitter, photographer and designer Jared Flood joins us to talk about his knitting and lots of other things.
How playing Dungeons and Dragons helps with knitting design (I think the only way to be more geeky would be to get some Star Trek in there as well).

What’s happening
Anglicare Knit In #5   9am to 3pm 9 July Government House Perth Western Australia
Australian Sheep and Wool Show   Bendigo Victoria 18-20 July
Beyond Knitting & Crocheted Reef and Anemone Garde   17 June to 24 August at the San Jose Museum of Quilts and Textiles
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Canowindra Group)   10am, 2nd Saturday of each month at Glasonbury, Longs Corner Road, Canowindra
Perth City Nits   Every second Saturday – Boarders Hay Street Mall, Perth

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Wild Tea Cosies  by Loani Prior (link)

Next week will be a big one for the final show of series 7, so don’t miss it.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

29 June 2008 - Posted by | knitting

5 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the great interview with Jared Flood. I’ll be making the Cobblestone for Ben this fall. Also, we wondered if we wanted to start with Babylon 5, should we see a movie first or jump into the first season of the the TV show? I’m looking forward to next weeks show, as usual! Have a great school break! Knit on!
    Sara in WI

    Comment by Sara in WI | 1 July 2008

  2. Hi David!

    I´m having a bit of trouble listening to the podcast: on iTunes, there´s only about 2 minutes of podcast; I tried also via your website and I managed to listen more than half of the show but not until the end.

    This is specially annoying because your show is so good and I was enjoying the interview with Jared so much.

    Happy school break and even happier knitting!

    Ana

    Comment by Ana | 1 July 2008

  3. Great interview with Jared! I am knitting my second stripped scarf and am now tempted to try the Cobblestone. Hope you enjoy the rest of Babylon 5; I was absolutely crazy about the series when it was on US television. Didn’t miss a show. Now it’s Battlestar Galactica . . . I’m new to your podcast–so I’m not sure if you have seen it, but if you haven’t, give it a try.

    Comment by Bev from Chicago | 5 July 2008

  4. OOh I am so disappointed in the quality of Jared’s interview. He is so FAB and a very articulate speaker in person!!

    I wish the telephone/computer issues were all cleared up during the recording (crackling/breaking up/hissing). But thanks for the interview!

    Comment by crimsonpurl | 10 July 2008

  5. new to your site and podcast…wonderful stuff. Thanks for all the work you’re putting into it! I look forward to catching up on your ‘casts!

    Jared is an an amazing shot in the arm not only for knitting, but for men who knit. I hope others follow his lead and start designing and showing their work. Can only be good for the industry.

    Comment by sean | 9 August 2008


Leave a comment