Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 100 – From the beginning

Well, made it to 100. This week a look back…

If you’d like to take up the Audible offer of a free trial account and a free book, click here. And thanks to Audible for sponsoring the show this week.

What’s happening

Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm

Mens Australian Knitting Retreat Jenolan Caves House 10-13 July 2009

NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division) 3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre

Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music

Rob Costlow Tulip Trees (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag

Other

Yes from Pet Shop Boys (link)

Knitting around from Elizabeth Zimmermann and Meg Swansen (link)


Reconstruction by Rob Costlow


Reconstruction by Rob Costlow

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or

podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au

I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.

My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.

My Amazon wish list is here.

I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

Reconstruction by Rob Costlow

5 April 2009 - Posted by | knitting

17 Comments »

  1. 100 shows, wow. And all wonderful. Thanks for all you do, David!
    Laura S. (ravelry Gramknits)

    Comment by Laura | 6 April 2009

  2. Hi David, I’ve been listening to your podcast for a few weeks now and have to say that it’s my favourite podcast. You have also inspired me to start my own cast; Episode 1 is on the air now. Thanks so much for being in inspiration! 🙂

    Comment by Ev | 7 April 2009

  3. Congratulations on your 100th episode! I’ve enjoyed your shows very much, thank you for your efforts. A comment on your 30th school reunion; I think the geeks are more interesting and well-rounded bunch to talk to anyways.

    From a Canadian geek.

    Comment by Veronica | 7 April 2009

  4. Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed your 100th podcast, and, as a matter of fact, ALL of your podcasts. Your podcasts are very interesting, humerous when you intend them to be, the music is good, and the essays loveable. As a cat lover, I love hearing what your cats are up to and appreciate their contributions to the show.

    I’ve even been known to stay up “past my bedtime” to catch the podcasts when they’re posted. LOL!! 🙂 So, keep up the great work!! I look forward to 100 more episodes!

    Comment by Sara F. in Oklahoma, USA | 7 April 2009

  5. Congrats on the centenary podcast!! Thanks for all the interesting articles.
    Sandra, Lichfield, UK

    Comment by sandra | 9 April 2009

  6. Congratulations on your 100th episode and I look forward to the next 100! I was sipping chai tea while cross stitching on a Tunisian afghan as I listened to you reminisce. Thank you for all the hours you have spent with me while I knit, crochet and spin.

    Beverly in Maine, USA.

    Comment by Beverly | 10 April 2009

  7. Congrats on the 100th podcast from Brandon, Minnesota, USA.

    Comment by Beth | 10 April 2009

  8. Many celebrations and salutations on your century!
    S&S is one of my ultimate favourite podcasts and one of the first I download and listen to each time!
    Thanks so very much David – Here’s to a hundred more 🙂

    Comment by Sasha | 11 April 2009

  9. I just found your podcasts from finding the Summer 2006 knitty page that lists knitting podcasts. I’m greatly enjoying working through the backlist. I started at the beginning, listened to a couple in the middle and went back to listen in order. It will take me a while to catch up to the current episode! Thanks for the great entertainment while I cook, quilt, knit, etc.

    Comment by Ruth C | 12 April 2009

  10. Forgot to mention I took up the Audible offer–thanks for the idea.

    Comment by Ruth C | 12 April 2009

  11. I’ve listened to your podcast from the beginning and, perhaps needless to say, I’ve enjoyed them. Thank you! I have only commented once, because it seems to me that it would be a burden for you to have to read them, but your comments on this 100th episode on the importance of hearing from listeners convinced me otherwise. So, thank you! I hope your backyard lizards and eucalyptus trees are thriving.

    Nancy, Washington State, USA

    Comment by Nancy | 18 April 2009

  12. Hi David. Congratulations on your 100th episode! I haven’t listened yet (I’m up to episode 97), but I’m sure it’s at least just as good as the rest. Looking forward to listening. By the way, if you are still in need of transcription for the show, I would be happy to do it! Wishing you happy future podcasting!

    Comment by Dannelle | 22 April 2009

  13. Hi David,

    I only discovered podcasts about three weeks ago.

    Firstly I listened to some podcasts by that lady Brenda who is American but now lives in Wales, then I thought there must be somebody a little closer to home and I found you.

    I’ve listened from the very first podcast to number 45 and I’ve now gone to your newest.

    Its amazing to listen to your knitting journey and all the skills and friends you have collected along the way.

    I am in my mid 50’s and have knitted since I was about 8, I was taught by my Welsh grand-mother, father and auntie, all when I lived in Wales.

    We emigrated to Australia when I was 13 and I didn’t pick up my sticks and string again until I was about 18 and I haven’t stopped since.

    My greatest achievement of late is that I knitted my 19 year old son a jumper, that he actually wears, although not outside the house.

    My daughter so far will only wear a pair of angora socks I made for myself, but she found them and now wears them to bed.

    Since I have been listening to you I have knitted a raglan striped tunic from Patons 1287, I have now only to sew it up and sew the ends in. Yuk!!!

    Congratulations on your 100th podcast.

    Knit in peace and harmony.

    Rose in Melbourne – ozyknitter.

    Comment by Rose Windman | 3 May 2009

  14. Hi David, really enjoyed your 100th podcast episode. I listen to many podcasts, knitting and otherwise, and just want to say always choose yours first! I really enjoy them and i have liked seeing your growth as a podcaster, they keep getting better and better. And can i also say i was BLOWN AWAY by your saying that you picked up knitting again only in 2007. And shortly after knit Henry. WOW. My hat is off to you.
    Larissa (American expat in the UK)

    Comment by Larissa | 22 May 2009

  15. Hi David,
    Congratulations on 100.
    I have enjoyed listening to your podcast from the beginning.
    Your podcasts are informative,entertaining and at times funny. Love you essays. They are the best. I have enjoyed hearing about your life in Australia. Your choice of music is very calm and relaxing. Great knitting and spinning music.
    Keep up the good work.
    Thank you for 100 great podcasts. My wish is for a another 100.
    Happy knitting and spinning.
    Phyllis – Alabama – USA

    Comment by Phyllis | 21 June 2009

  16. I find it amusing that you listen to the Pet Shop Boys. I happen to like them, too; but I wouldn’t have picked them for you. I also love the piano music you play in your shows.

    Comment by Katrina | 1 July 2009

  17. Congrats on 100 shows! I’ve been a listener for quite some time now, since about the 15th or 20th episode, but I neglected my iTunes for about two years and am now catching up on the podcasts I happen to love – yours included! I have ‘listened up’ to your 100th show, and I am so happy to be doing so. Congrats for making it this far (even though we both know you’ve blasted past 100) and I’m looking forward to the next 34, and any shows beyond that.

    Comment by bashtree | 27 May 2010


Leave a Reply

