Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 96 – I’m busy

Why people are never really too busy to knit (unless they’re already knitters).

Thanks so much again to Terry for the wonderful book this week.

And why it would be very difficult to buy knot free wool.

I’m not sure if I’ve put this webcam up before, but here it is anyway.

And a special extra from DJ Sped after the end of the show.

What’s happening

Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm

Mens Australian Knitting Retreat Jenolan Caves House 10-13 July 2009

NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division) 3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre

Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music

David Modica Because (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag

Books

Viking patterns for knitting by Elsebeth Lavold (link)

Stillness and Movement by David Modica

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or

podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au

I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.

My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.

My Amazon wish list is here.

I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

8 March 2009 - Posted by | knitting

6 Comments »

  1. Hi David!

    Dollhouse is available on Hulu.com!

    Comment by Adrienne | 8 March 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi David!
    I am so glad you like the Viking Knitting book I sent. I have the book as well, but have not attempted any of the patterns. She has a technique that I need to learn first.
    I sent the the other book just because you had mentioned that it is hard to find patterns for men. I am not fond of the “B” word in the title, but we seem to sell this series of books quite well at the yarn shop (Knitting Habitat in Aurora, CO) I work at.
    FYI: On your show notes, you got the author’s last name wrong.
    Happy knitting,
    Terry

    Comment by Terry Flagg | 9 March 2009 | Reply

  3. Well done, DJ Sped!

    David – did you ever say what your course of study is? I can’t remember, and I’d like a context for your assignments, which sound pretty interesting.

    Comment by Gail | 9 March 2009 | Reply

  4. Another fabulous podcast, as usual. Have you tried Hulu.com to get Dollhouse? It’s up there now and you should be able to watch it. 🙂

    Comment by Chelsea the Yarngeek | 12 March 2009 | Reply

  5. I blogged after listening to this cast http://somethingtodowhile.blogspot.com/2009/03/family-knitting-happiness-and-sock.html

    I really liked what you said about busy, definitly applies to me.

    I listened to this cast while ironing, definitly went faster.

    Comment by Celeritas | 18 March 2009 | Reply

  6. Hi David…thanks so much for your podcast. I got behind on some episodes over the last couple of months. I recently repainted 2 rooms in our house. You podcast is great to listen to while painting. While I love the finished result of painting a room, the process is quite tedious. Thanks more helping the job go by more quickly!

    Comment by elletrain | 21 March 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

