Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 93 – The plan

The weather is no longer hot!
If you hear a rumbling sound during the first part of the show, it’s not the dryer, it’s Tikka purring, I probably shouldn’t pat her at the same time as I’m recording.
CogKNITive is here.
The Magical Earth is here, give it a listen it’s an interesting show.
The Red Cross bushfire appeal is here.
Here’s the Darwin Walk.
More from the metaphorical mailbag too.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Mens Australian Knitting Retreat   Jenolan Caves House 10-13 July 2009
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Erik Ask-Upmark    Himlens Polska     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Other
Verena Knitting Magazine (online)  from Burda (link)

Himlens Polska by Erik Ask Upmark 

Himlens Polska by Erik Ask Upmark

 

Don’t forget to vote in the NSW Knitters Guild elections.
And consider your local yarn makers and farmers when that economic stimulus payment arrives! 

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.
My Amazon wish list is here.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots 

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

15 February 2009 - Posted by | knitting

4 Comments »

  1. Great show, David – loved the essay as usual. And as it turns out, I happen to be working on an only semi-planned top-down raglan sweater, and am enjoying making up (simple!) fair isle patterns to fit my current stitch count as I go along.

    More importantly – you’ve led the way to several goodies. I was feeling that I need a couple more podcasts to listen to, and now I have two new ones to try. Also was delighted to hear about Verena being available in English as my German is quite rusty and was never strong to begin with, but I’ve always liked their styles. I’ve downloaded one issue and am mulling over a subscription. I’ve also recently bought a Magnatune download subscription, and have downloaded a number of things you’ve played on the show as well as some of my own choices.

    You see the influence you have! Though it’s extremely unusual to find references to so many things I’ve been looking for all in one show.

    Thanks for all the work you put into the cast. It’s always a bright spot in the week.

    Comment by MamaCat | 17 February 2009

  2. Just to say “thank you” for yet another great podcast, and it is apparent that you must spend considerable time and effort to find lots of interesting items. I have only recently had an ipod (late developer aged 60!!) but have thorougly enjoyed all the ones I have downloaded from yourself. It is also interesting to get an insight on life in another country. Looking forward to hearing your podcasts in the future, and thanks again
    Sandra, Lichfield, England

    Comment by sandra | 21 February 2009

  3. Your ideas on planning made me think…I think the projects that you do that involve extensive planning usually end up being less than satisfactory since you have developed a pre-conceived notion of how it should turn out. Human nature being what it is…you have a mental picture of what it should look like and what it really looks like are two different things and thus results in disappointment. However..if you loosely plan and develop your project as it evolves, you don’t have a pre-conceived idea of what it should be and you are usually amazed that it turns out as well as it did!

    Comment by Mola Marie | 22 February 2009

  4. After listening to over 90 episodes in the past month, I’ve fallen in love with your voice and am dreading the day I catch up. Great job! I’m loving the podcast! Give Tiger and Tigger a pet from me!

    Comment by Katrina | 24 June 2009


Leave a Reply

