Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 92 – Time to imagine

The weather is hot, very hot!
This week I look at the advantages of occasionally getting bored.
More from the metaphorical mailbag too.
Thanks very much to Laura for this week’s book.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Mens Australian Knitting Retreat   Jenolan Caves House 10-13 July 2009
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Alma Nova    Song for Marcus     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Cables, Diamonds, Herringbone  by Sabine Dominick (link)

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.
My Amazon wish list is here.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots 

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

8 February 2009 - Posted by | knitting

8 Comments »

  1. Happy Birthday, David…I enjoy your show. You made a great traveling companion on a recent road trip. I hope your birthday was a good one

    Comment by R. Selva | 9 February 2009 | Reply

  2. Was thinking about you and the fires. Hope you are not in their path and all is safe. Love the podcast and listen to you all the time.

    Comment by Gerry Hartsoe | 9 February 2009 | Reply

  3. I loved your essay, it reminds me of the Waldorf philosophy. If my kids tell me they are bored, I tell them how lucky they are to be blessed by it. I also really enjoyed the music. Thank you and have a great week!

    Comment by shelle | 9 February 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi David-
    Hearing, seeing, and reading about the fires. Prayers ascending upward for all of you! Hope you are okay.
    Kathleen in PA

    Comment by Kathleen | 9 February 2009 | Reply

  5. Hi David,

    This is just a quick note to let you know I listen to all your podcasts and they are so much fun to me.

    Thank you for your lovely show and keep it up!

    The weather is quite hot here too, but that’s what cotton is for right? Summer knitting?

    Greetings from Buenos Aires.

    Comment by Andrea | 10 February 2009 | Reply

  6. Crock Alerts: Made me smile. I am originally from southern Illinois 350 miles south of Chicago (Carbondale is the big town with Southern Illinois University, but my *real* home town is Makanda–for another interesting USA name) where my sister still lives.

    I now live in Okinawa Japan.

    Whenever there is an earthquake in Northern Japan (Sapporo, Tokyo, etc.) my sister calls and asks if I’m alright. After several of these conversations with me not-so-patiently repeating the relative distance from Northern Japan to Okinawa, I had occasion to call her and ask if she was okay when Houston Texas was flooding with the hurricaine that visited the Texas coast. I sent her a map with an arrow drawn between Chicago and Houston and another of similar length drawn between Tokyo and Okinawa.

    She finally got it.

    Comment by Mary Beth | 11 February 2009 | Reply

  7. Your comments about education and over-scheduling the children made me smile. Thank you so much for addressing this. This is just one of many reasons why I have been home educating my children for over 20 years.

    Love your podcasts!

    Happy Valentine’s Day from Snellville, Georgia (just northeast of Atlanta)

    wombatknitter from Ravelry

    Comment by Patti | 15 February 2009 | Reply

  8. I’ve just been catching up on your podcasts (I tend to listen while I’m at the laundromat. And because I live in Somerville, near Boston, Massachusetts, and it has been rather cold and snowy, I’ve been avoiding going to do laundry), and I had to sit down right away and let you know how much I loved this essay. Bravo!

    And, I had been thinking about you and the fires back when and checked (with Google!) to see if there were any up in your neck of the woods.

    Comment by Kenneth | 9 March 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

