Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 90 – Black Jelly Beans

A big knitting coincidence this week.
If you want nice jelly beans, I like the ones from here.
That’s it for series 9, but series 10 will be starting on 1 February.
Thanks to everyone who has helped out with this series, Michelle for all the music, Eileen, Debbie, K and Anonymous for sending goodies.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Mens Australian Knitting Retreat   Jenolan Caves House 10-13 July 2009
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Royal Easter Show Knitting Competition   Entries for the Arts section open on 3 November
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Marc Enfroy    Night on the Seine     (Podsafe)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Knitting on Top of the World  by Nicky Epstein (link)

If you’d like to support the Calendar of Hope, you’ll find the information here.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.
My Amazon wish list is here.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots 

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

4 January 2009 - Posted by | knitting

7 Comments »

  1. Recently got an ipod, and this is one of the best podcasts I’ve found so far. Am really enjoying it, so thanks. I had to listen to quite a bit of this one again, as I was falling asleep, but no offence… it was about 1am. I listened to it again at 5:30am after both kids woke up wanting drinks before going back to sleep. lol.

    Catch you again in February Ü

    Tam from Ballarat

    Comment by Tam | 8 January 2009

  2. Thanks for an other ripper episode David! Love the Jelly Beans essay – I totally agree! 🙂 I’ve been catching up theeps I’ve missed, starting a little before Chrissie, and have thoroughly enjoyed being able to hammer out a few episodes in a row – how indlugent, not having to wait for the next one! Hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays before returning to school.
    W.A

    Comment by Sasha | 18 January 2009

  3. I love your episodes. I found it on I-Tunes and I downloaded it at work and at home. I just listened to a past episode where you discussed book binding and saving all your essays. Are you thinking of publishing them? I would love to read all of them I think they are fantastic!
    thank you so much for what you do. I love your show, and listening to you while I work makes my day much lighter.
    Carmel

    Comment by Carmel | 19 January 2009

  4. I recently discovered your podcast and it quickly became one of my favorites! I really enjoy your essays, especially Black Jelly Beans!

    Comment by Tammy | 20 January 2009

  5. Enjoy the break! You’ll be sorely missed, but I hope the weather stays sunny and warm so you can enjoy it. I’m in the upper hemisphere, actually enjoying those single digit temps. (Yes, you do get used to it… LOL!) BTW, I downloaded Rob Costlow and Marc Enfroy, who I never would have found without your excellent choices in music. Thanks!!

    Comment by Bonnee | 20 January 2009

  6. Wanted to let you know I love your podcast. I was way behind and finally caught up this past weekend. Would have loved to be in the knitting shop because Kelley Petkins blog is right up there with yours. I haven’t caught up there yet. Hopefully in the coming days. Helps when I take the train to work but that only happens one or two days a week at most.

    I have to agree the Nicky Epstein book …inspiration I guess, but a book I left in the store and that doesn’t happen often (just check out my library in Ravelry and that is about 70% of them). I have all her others, so it surprised me.

    Anyway, nice to get to know you over the internet!

    Comment by Vickie aka Kvicknits | 21 January 2009

  7. Love the episode…Any chance we could get a photo of the new pod station with the cats lounging about as they do?
    I like lollipops also, especially in annoying daily commutes by car! I guess if my mouth is full less curse words are coming out or something…
    Have a nice break! ~Christine.

    Comment by Christine | 24 January 2009


Leave a Reply

