Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 76 – The New LYS

A guest essay this week, thanks very much to Kate.
A new book kindly sent by Beth, thanks to her also, it’s wonderful
The Ram II club is here.
When writing these up I realised I’d played the Justin Bianco track in show 44, but it’s not reminding me of itself, I’m sure there’s another song…

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Canowindra Group)   10am, 2nd Saturday of each month at Glasonbury, Longs Corner Road, Canowindra
Perth City Nits   Every second Saturday – Boarders Hay Street Mall, Perth
Philadelphia Knit In Public   20 September 2008 in Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

This show’s music
Justin Bianco    What you leave behind     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Knitting patterns from the British Isles  by Jane Waller (link)

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
My Blackberry pin is 2528FD42.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

14 September 2008 - Posted by | knitting

7 Comments »

  1. The piece you are thinking of is called carol of the bells.
    Usually played around christmas time.

    Comment by tonya leach | 15 September 2008

  2. Could the song that you were trying to think of be “Carol of the Bells”, the Christmas carol? That’s the one I thought of.

    Comment by Minou Shelton | 15 September 2008

  3. The song played reminds me of the Christmas song Silver Bells.

    Cheers,
    paletpc

    Comment by Bev Love | 20 September 2008

  4. The song reminded me of the Carol of the Bells. With each da da dada, da da dada, I started to hum along…then was lost as the song went a different way.

    Thanks!

    Comment by Ashlie | 21 September 2008

  5. David,

    I’ve just listened to this episode, so maybe you’ve figured out what song ‘What You Leave Behind’ reminds you of, but to me it sounded a lot like ‘Tubular Bells’ by Mike Oldfield.

    Comment by Jason | 23 September 2008

  6. Adding my vote for “Carol of the Bells”, though I can also hear some of what I like about “Tubular Bells”.

    Comment by Lynn | 17 October 2008

  7. i was hearing tubular bells / mike oldfield before you even mentioned the piece reminded you of something

    Comment by karen | 9 August 2009


Leave a Reply

