Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Sorry – no show this week

Sorry all, but there’s no show this week.

After I finished recording last Sunday I started feeling a little unwell. There have been a batch of viruses going around at school, with 20% of the kids away some days. Anyway I struggled on until Thursday and thought I had beaten it, but no, it got me and I’ve been in bed now since Friday. It’s a win for the cats I suppose, but it meant that nothing much got done for the show, and I’ve got a pile of correspondence from people that I haven’t got around to either.

So, please accept my apologies for not getting the show up. I’m feeling a little better now, and actually feel hungry enough to put some effort into making dinner. So until next week – carpe lanam.

31 August 2008 - Posted by | knitting

28 Comments »

  1. Hope you feel better soon.

    Comment by Jan Melcher | 31 August 2008 | Reply

  2. Feel better, David!

    Comment by Diane(2knit) | 31 August 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m sorry you’ve been sick, but glad you are on the mend now. I teach school, too, and can’t imagine 20% out! We would probably close school for at least a day. We’ve done that in the past for flu, etc. I’ll look forward to a new show next week!

    Comment by Lucinda | 31 August 2008 | Reply

  4. Best wishes for a speedy recovery. We’ll miss your show, but look forward to the next. Cheers!

    Comment by Mary aka turtleknitter | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  5. Get Well Soon!

    Comment by scarletti | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  6. Poor you! I hope you are feeling right as rain again soon – such illness can wreak havoc with knitting progress!
    Nancyx

    Comment by Nancy | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  7. ahhhhh….I was wondering where the show was. Well, get well soon!

    Comment by Elemmaciltur | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  8. Get well soon mate!
    It must be a rotten bug if it’s knocking the teachers down. Teachers, like nurses, usually develop fantastic immune systems as they’re exposed to so many viruses. Dont rush back, give yourself a bit extra time to feel fighting fit.
    TTFN
    Susan

    Comment by susetheslowknitta | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  9. Hang in there, David! As a fellow teacher, when in doubt, blame the kids for making you sick. 🙂

    Comment by AlliCat236 | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  10. Spend lots of time feeling better! I’d rather have you get well than work when you’re sick!

    Comment by genuinelye | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  11. Don’t you worry about the podcast. Just get better soon!

    Comment by Jane | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  12. Get well soon, sending virtual chicken soup and epsom salts.

    Comment by Elysbeth | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  13. Poor David, glad you’re feeling better!

    Comment by Gail | 1 September 2008 | Reply

  14. Get well soon! Ditto the chicken soup!

    Comment by Peg | 2 September 2008 | Reply

  15. No rush! Take care of you! 🙂

    Comment by Saffron | 2 September 2008 | Reply

  16. While I miss hearing you I do hope you feel better soon. Get some rest and a little soup, Take care.

    Comment by Tammy-pinklady | 2 September 2008 | Reply

  17. Sorry to hear that you are ill, but it is good to know that your new computer software did not defeat you.

    All the best for a quick recovery!

    Comment by Meg | 2 September 2008 | Reply

  18. Hope you are feeling better by now!

    Don’t worry about the show, we can all wait until you are fit and well again.

    Comment by Amanda | 3 September 2008 | Reply

  19. Hope you feel better soon. Everyone has to take some time off…. enjoy your quality kitty time!

    Comment by Silverilix | 3 September 2008 | Reply

  20. Sorry that you have been under the weather. Get plenty of rest and we will hear you soon. I do miss you when you are doing new podcasts. Take care get lots of fluids and some soup. I will be awaiting your return to health and a new podcast.

    Comment by Tammy (pinklady) | 3 September 2008 | Reply

  21. I would send some good ol’ Southern Chicken and Dumplings or fresh peach cobbler (since it’s winter in your “neck of the woods”…)but it would probably spill and get confiscated by customs…so just accept a big internet hug and a “get well soon”…. oh, and ginger-steeped tea is excellent for any ailment…cheers- Elizabeth

    Comment by Elizabeth | 3 September 2008 | Reply

  22. Hey, Honey. I hope you feel better soon.

    Comment by Coldfriday | 3 September 2008 | Reply

  23. Get well, soon or at whatever speed your body needs! We all miss your voice and your podcast but want you to be well. I’d
    send along some homemade chicken soup if I could, but really,I think we all should head over to Elizabeth’s house for some of that cobbler as soon as you’re well!

    Comment by Redsknits | 4 September 2008 | Reply

  24. Miss your podcast… feel better!

    Comment by seipelt | 4 September 2008 | Reply

  25. Oh that really stinks. I’m sorry you’re sick, but I hope you’re feeling better by now.

    Comment by friender | 5 September 2008 | Reply

  26. I hope you are feeling better. I love your show and look forward to the new one next week. Hope you were not too ill to knit! peace

    Comment by shelle | 5 September 2008 | Reply

  27. Redsknits and all- everyone’s welcome at Maison Cou Rouge!! We happen to be innundated with peaches here in the Middle-Of-Nowhere, Georgia- so now that David’s feeling better, everyone just paddle or surfboard on across the pond and head over to the East Coast of the US…just in time for a hurricane party!!(I grew up in Louisiana, so I know all about that stuff, too!!)

    Be sure to squeeze in those extra naps, David–I can’t imagine how horrible it must be to feel like death-warmed-over and having to deal with 20 hormone-laced teenaged boys…..

    cheers- Elizabeth

    Comment by Elizabeth | 5 September 2008 | Reply

  28. Get well soon.

    Comment by Phyllis | 7 September 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

