Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 51 – A night at the opera

Today’s show comes from the Australian Opera’s performance of La Boheme in the Domain in Sydney.
Our guests were: the other Andrew, Reecie, Kris, Bex, and Michelle the knitting Muso.
Kris’s competiton details are here.
If you’d like to help Can-Assist with hand knitted socks, you can contact them here.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Knitters Connection   Once again in Columbus Ohio from 11 to 14 June. Lots of interesting people…
NSW Knitters Guild (Canowindra Group)   10am, 2nd Saturday of each month at Glasonbury, Longs Corner Road, Canowindra
Perth City Nits   Every second Saturday – Boarders Hay Street Mall, Perth

This show’s music
Procul Harum    Weisselklenzenacht /The Signature -Live at the Uni     (Podsafe)

Thanks to everyone who came to the opera. Next week lots of yarn and possibly a tee-shirt.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

3 February 2008 - Posted by | knitting

7 Comments »

  1. Normally, I enjoy your podcast, but I have to say that your essay in the current podcast is a bit “pie in the sky” as if knitting were some kind of utopica. It’s not – -it’s just a hobby (and a hobby that I enjoy, but I don’t think that all knitters are wonderfully happy caring people).

    The discussion of how knitting is a counter-measure to consumerism is ironic giving the number of books and supplies you have purchased. Knitting can be just as commercial as any other activity; just look at the number of knitting bags (some of which are up to $300 each), stitch markers, special pins, etc. Many made out of plastic.

    In terms of knitting needles on planes, you must have forgotten that one attempted hijacking DID use knitting needles as their weapon of choice. Sure, one could also use a pen, but banning pens would cause an extreme inconvenience to the majority of passengers whereas banning needles would be a light inconvenience to only a small number of people (and besides, if someone can’t take a break from knitting to read a book or just relax might be developing an unhealthy addiction to the craft).

    Comment by Jess | 4 February 2008 | Reply

  2. Glad your back!! I’ve missed your podcast!!

    Comment by Michelle | 4 February 2008 | Reply

  3. What a wonderful surprise it was last night to see a new episode downloading! I’ve missed your weekly updates in the past month, and it makes it so much easier to get back into the groove on Monday morning by listening to your podcast.

    You will love knitting the Baby Surprise Jacket! I’ve just finished three for my husband’s cousins, who are expecting triplets. I feel like an expert in this pattern now, so if you have any questions I’m always available to help!

    Comment by Sarah | 4 February 2008 | Reply

  4. I loved your essay! The only thing you forgot is how the relaxation of knitting can save us more money by alleviating the need for other stress-reduction such as massage, yoga, therapy, etc.! Wish you had it posted online so I can print it and show it to dh!!

    Comment by Teri | 6 February 2008 | Reply

  5. Yeah fruit bats! I definitely miss the bats in AUS.

    Comment by Amy | 8 February 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi David,
    Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. I sent a message on 9th Jan and received one right back – great
    Unfortunately I have not been able to unscramble the message to read it, I have given up and hope you can send it again as I still want to know about the 8 ply singles.
    I don’t know if you have covered this but I have just heard that much of AU’s wool is to be sent to China for processing and AU’s processing is suffering is this true ? will it affect home spinners like yourself and for those of us that order from AU…..Susan

    Comment by susan forsyth | 10 February 2008 | Reply

  7. I wish I could get a typed copy of this essay! I’d love to show it to several of my friends as they would agree with it completely!

    Have fun!
    Benita

    Comment by Benita | 28 March 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

