Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 46 – Goldilocks

A bit of a departure from the regular – this week bookbinding, yes it is related to knitting (it has needles and thread, and some similar concepts).

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
NSW Knitters Guild (Canowindra Group)   10am, 2nd Saturday of each month at Glasonbury, Longs Corner Road, Canowindra
Perth City Nits   Every second Saturday – Boarders Hay Street Mall, Perth
Sydney Royal Easter Show   Details of the arts competitions (entries open until 11 January 2008)
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Stephane Potvin and the Con Brio Choir    Quelle est cette odeur agreable     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Hand Bookbinding  by Aldren A Watson (link)
Other
Handbound book How-To  from Brian Sawyer (link)

Oh, this is the pattern book I was given. Lots of cute stuff in there (and isn’t it nice there are so many babies around at the moment).

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

9 December 2007 - Posted by | knitting

8 Comments »

  1. Congratulations on finishing the knitting of Henry — what an accomplishment!

    Comment by Sarah | 10 December 2007 | Reply

  2. I just wanted to say how much I enjoy your podcasts! I was just wondering about bookbinding because I saw an ad for a class. Thanks for sharing with us. By the way, the Henry sweater is gorgeous!

    Comment by speckle | 11 December 2007 | Reply

  3. If you’re getting into bookbinding and want to learn more, I recommend the books by Keith A. Smith.

    Comment by Auntly H | 11 December 2007 | Reply

  4. Dear David,
    I feel that I’m writing to an old friend. Last Wednesday, suffering from a cold, and looking for something to keep me occupied while working on a blanket for my son for Christmas, I found your podcast.
    I have now completed the blanket, and am up to show 41. My history. I have only been knitting for 1 year. I have crocheted for the past 30 years (self taught) but I could never get the hang of knitting. My crochet has covered everything from thin string tablecloths to the characters from Winnie the Pooh.
    Last January, my son was undergoing some testing for heart problems, and I needed something to occupy my brain. Decided to try knitting again and felt like a complete bumbling idiot until I went online and found continental knitting which put the yarn in my left had again, where it belongs after all the years I crocheted.
    Since I started I’ve also started a stitch and bitch at my church. We call ourselves Loops of Love, and concentrate on knitting hats, booties, blankets etc. for newborn and premies through an organization called Care Wear.
    Keep up the good work, I’ll keep listening and knitting
    Jan Melcher

    Comment by Jan Melcher | 12 December 2007 | Reply

  5. Love the knitting book of small projects. I will look out for that – It’s nice to have some small things that can be made up quickly!!

    Comment by Marjorie | 14 December 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi, love your podcast. Henry’s gorgeous and worth every end.

    I know of a tool for weaving in ends!

    It won’t automatically do it, and you may not want to use it on Henry if you’re entering it into the show, because while it weaves the ends in securely and nicely they’re still kind of visible.

    Do you do any latch hooking or rugmaking? The little hooks that they use, with a hook and a latch that opens and closes, with its ergonomic handle, are great for weaving in ends.

    What you do is open the latch, run the hook through the wrong side of your work in the same way you would run a darning needle (zig zagging along), starting near your end, going as far as you’d like. Then, put the yarn through the hook, close the latch and gently pull the hook out of the work, drawing the yarn with it.

    I won’t even try to take credit for this one, learned it in a crochet class with Lily Chin.

    If that wasn’t clear, email me and let me know.

    Hope this helps, and keep the podcasts coming!

    Comment by Shevon | 15 December 2007 | Reply

  7. I will echo the recommendation of anything by Kevin A. Smith, I have one of his books as well as a “fun” one that contains unusual shaped books and book like items-“Creating Books & Boxes” by Benjamin D. Rinehart.

    I am enjoying your podcast and the Henry updates, can’t wait for the next Henry!

    Comment by Debra from MI, USA | 18 December 2007 | Reply

  8. Bookbinding is such a great hobby I am glad you talked about it. I am a huge fan of good sturdy and unique notebooks. When I deviate from knitting topics, I get a few comments from listeners also and I try not to fret about it. Do what you love – I keep telling myself. Thanks for the enjoyable podcasts David.

    Comment by Miriam Quinn | 12 January 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

