Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 40 – Trust

This week we have the promised interview with Michelle Griffin of intro music fame. (The link takes you to her blog.)
The Southern Summer of Socks is starting here and you can email to take part here.
The natural dyeing day is going to be on 3 November up in the Blue Mountains, contact me if you’d like further details.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Meantime Knitters at the London Knitting & Stitchi   Alexandra Palace, London
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
South East Animal Fiber Fair   Asheville, North Carolina 26 – 28 October
Studio 49 Fibre Retreat   A fibre arts retreat that Old Oak Ranch Sonora 16 to 18 November 2007 (pendria AT sbcglobal DOT net)
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
James Edwards   
Cabarios    
(Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
The Chopin Manuscript  by 15 different authors (link)
The Principles of Knitting  by June Hemmons Hiatt (link)
Other
Escape Pod  from Steve Eley (link)

The show will be back on the weekend of 3/4 November with series 5.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

14 October 2007 - Posted by | knitting

6 Comments »

  1. I’m lucky enough to have custody of my mother’s copy of The Principles of Knitting; it’s the first reference I go to when I have a question. She bought it when it was first published, and has graciously allowed me to keep it at my house.

    Comment by Elizabeth | 15 October 2007 | Reply

  2. So Michelle is revealed (and her blog post is hugely funny too!!!) and she didn’t mention her funny hats…… (?)

    and its THE LAST SHOW IN THE SERIES!!!!!! * Sob *

    Wonderful show as usual, full of good stuff.

    Oh and some of us don’t “stop listening” %-)) Sorry We just keep going and going…….

    Comment by Whskr | 15 October 2007 | Reply

  3. Whew — good thing I finally read your blog — I was getting quite concerned that there was no show updates and that something had happened … and then saw the “next show will be 3/4 November”. Great! I admit it, I’m a “podcast junkie” (taken from a Ravelry group mantra). Maryjo

    Comment by Maryjo | 29 October 2007 | Reply

  4. Hello!! I recently discovered your podcast and just listened to the first episode. I LOVE your podcast! Your podcast is very professional, and listening to your accent is fabulous! It’s great to hear a guy’s perspective on knitting.

    I checked out your pictures, and your cats are beautiful! I like hearing your kitties in the background.

    I look forward to listening to all of your back episodes.

    Comment by Singular Stitches | 3 November 2007 | Reply

  5. Well Hello David, I have just returned from a week hidden away in a little cottage by the sea with my kids and IPOD for company…I downloaded a load of your podcast and you kept me entertained for many hours whilst I clicked away next to the fire. Thank you, it felt rude not to say hello after all the time I have spent listening to you. Thanks!

    Comment by Suzie Sews | 4 November 2007 | Reply

  6. Love the song on your podcast today after your travel essay. It had my head bobbing in the office. I am only know catching up with your show… Congrats on a year… i have really enjoyed your show.

    Comment by Guido from Boston | 31 January 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

