Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 35 – Show me

A terrific interview this show with Margaret Stove from New Zealand about her adventures in lace knitting, and how to design lace yourself.

Purchasing the book is complex, if you’re in Australia, you can get it from Ashford’s distributor here or if you’re anywhere else, you can contact Artisan Lace in New Zealand.

This show’s music is by the Manor House String Quartet and is their new recording of Sheep May Safely Graze by J.S. Bach which they did specially for the show – thanks so much.

The new knitting podcast Sweaters for Dragons is available on iTunes, or here.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Studio 49 Fibre Retreat   A fibre arts retreat that Old Oak Ranch Sonora 16 to 18 November 2007 (pendria AT sbcglobal DOT net)
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or

podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au

I’m on Ravelry as DavidReidy.

I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

9 September 2007 - Posted by | knitting

13 Comments »

  1. Thanks so much for the show! I loved hearing the wonderful recording of Sheep May Safely Graze!

    Comment by may | 10 September 2007 | Reply

  2. Loved that recording of Sheep May Safely Graze – a string quartet who knit? Another type of ‘sticks’ (bows) and ‘strings’ then eh?!

    Comment by Rosemary | 10 September 2007 | Reply

  3. Another wonderful episode. The “Sheep May Safely Graze” recording was so beautiful; is it for sale anywhere?

    Comment by Sonja | 10 September 2007 | Reply

  4. A very satisfying podcast this one! Loved hearing about the lace book (no I didn’t know about it either, but I’m not a Kiwi, I just live here!!)

    Loved the “Sheep…” something to keep as your special music for the next series I think. Thank you, Manor House String Quartet. The current variations are really amusing to listen to. I keep thinking OK what has the lady done this time!!!!

    I got caught my the APEC debacle as I was emailing Megan at Idyll Pleasures who is in West Pymble, and she wasn’t there which baffled me. Of course I had forgotten it was THE DAY……..

    Comment by Whskr | 10 September 2007 | Reply

  5. David, thanks for that lovely interview with Margaret Stove. I made one of her scarves a couple of years ago and so it was just great to hear the woman herself.

    Comment by Kerry | 11 September 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi David. I live in Spain, found you in Ravelry searching for podcast. I want to make a knitting podcast in spanish. Thanks for all the information about podcasting, I love it! Your podcast is wonderful(and love the accent). Greetings from Barcelona!

    Comment by debolsillo | 13 September 2007 | Reply

  7. I had got behind on my pod cast listening so I’ve been catching up on yours this morning. The knitting content is always interesting but also, I love your SMSG Variations! First off, it’s a wonderful song anyway and holds sentimental value but the variations on it are a real pleasure to hear. It’s a great concept to tie in with your creativity theme. Even my 13-year-old son is getting a kick out of them.

    Comment by marnie | 17 September 2007 | Reply

  8. You can get Margaret Stove’s book from http://www.coloniallakebooks.com.au/catalogue/knitting.html
    Very prompt delivery, and you can pay by bank transfer, cheque or moneyorder.
    Susan

    Comment by Susan | 19 September 2007 | Reply

  9. Hello David,

    Thank you for a wonderful podcast. I love how different you are from many others because you bridge the world of teaching with the world of learning and how your students benefit from your experiences. I for one feel like a “student” of yours too. I love to listen to you, your voice is perfect for audio it is very comforting and relaxing for knitting. I sit in my Craft room and knit to your podcast, thank you. You have a very fluid broadcast. It never sounds like you are reaching for something to talk about, wonderful. Well, thank you again and have a great day.

    Comment by Emerald | 20 September 2007 | Reply

  10. Loved this latest episode! The string quartet’s recording of “Sheep May Safely Graze” was breathtaking. So lovely to hear it in its original form. Hope to hear it again (the piano version this episode was fun, too).

    Comment by Lauren | 21 September 2007 | Reply

  11. […] too old to learn A few weeks ago I listened to an interesting pod-cast from David Reidy who does Sticks & String, a show I enjoy tremendously. Each week he does a […]

    Pingback by Never too old to learn « I knit alone | 2 October 2007 | Reply

  12. David, I too enjoy your podcast though I am too busy to listen everytime you broadcast. Just now noticed your lace knitting subject. Maybe you would like to join my Spring Shawl Surprice -I don’t think we have anybody from Australia yet :-)You can get the link from my blog.
    lul, Denmark

    Comment by lul | 23 October 2007 | Reply

  13. Hi David
    Thnaks for the Dec 2 podcast where you explain the process of creating a podcast. I am a principal of a middle school in Massachusetts and we have just applied for a grant for a class set of iPods. I wonder if you have any experince using iPods as a teaching tool?

    Love listening to you.

    Linda Darisse

    Comment by Linda Darisse | 8 December 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

