Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 30 – Make it personal

A busy week with the nieces visiting, we got to Jenolan Caves and Belgrave Park Alpacas.
Thanks to Fay Butcher and Eliott Redelman for the interviews they gave me at the Easter Show.
Don’t forget to check out Ravelry.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Studio 49 Fibre Retreat   A fibre arts retreat that Old Oak Ranch Sonora 16 to 18 November 2007 (pendria AT sbcglobal DOT net)
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Jeff Wahl    Akron Colorado     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Mason Dixon Knitting  by Kay Gardiner & Ann Shayne (link)

Well, that’s it for series 3. Series 4 will start again on the weekend of 4 August and will have the theme Design and Creativity.
A big thank you to everyone who contributed to the show this series: Sally, Kris and Chris, Charles, Ian & Geoff, Marion, Bev, everyone at WWKIP, Chris of Dendendaloom, Ann Westren for all her insights at the show, and of course Michelle Griffin for the theme music. (And sorry to everyone I’ve forgotten).

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

8 July 2007 - Posted by | knitting

9 Comments »

  1. Good to hear a young person interested in craft.

    Comment by Kerry | 10 July 2007 | Reply

  2. You mentioned you were going to have your own little spin-with-the-tour-de-france spin-along… did you know about Tour de Fleece?

    http://wabisabi.typepad.com/le_tour_de_fleece/

    Comment by Andrea (noricum) | 12 July 2007 | Reply

  3. Hey David,

    Love the podcast! I hope you haven’t trademarked your phrase Keep Knitting because I’ve modified it and am using it in my new podcast everydaybuddhism.podbean.com where I end with “Keep Sitting”! I love to knit and it goes along with my Buddhist practice–can be meditative you know. I really enjoy your program and often will listen for a quick pick me up as your positive approach and good nature come through so well.

    Thanks a lot!

    Alissa

    Comment by Alissa | 12 July 2007 | Reply

  4. David,
    I was very interested in your interview with the lady from the machine knitters guild. I have a machine that was given to me, which I don’t know how to use. Is there any chance you can give me a link or an email address so that I can email someone at the Machine Knitters Guild with the information about the machine? My mom and I did some investigating, but it was fruitless…
    Thanks!
    Sharah

    Comment by Sharah | 13 July 2007 | Reply

  5. I just saw this over on the etsy boards and though you’d get a kick out of it.

    http://www.ananova.com/news/story/sm_1879263.html

    Comment by Valerie | 13 July 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi David,

    Speaking of design and creativity, have you seen the “inspired by nature” KAL? That would probably fit really well with your next season’s theme. The blog is: http://traceysolomon.wordpress.com/

    Great podcasting! I’m looking forward to next season.

    Thanks!
    Becky

    Comment by Becky | 18 July 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi David,
    I’ve just started (way back with ‘Preliminary’ – I *hate* missing bits!!) to listen to your podcast, having heard and read about it here and there. I’m really enjoying your laid-back style (go Aussies), and am looking forward to many hours of catching up. I’m also looking forward to telling my DH about the Aussie male knitter astrophysicist teacher podcaster :->
    Time do some more catching up!
    Kate

    Comment by Kate | 19 July 2007 | Reply

  8. Hi there!

    While patiently awaiting the return of Brenda Dayne I downloaded all of your episodes from iTunes last night. I’ve gotten through the first two, and I LIKE it!! Good job. I can’t wait to get caught up, but I am the type who listens in order, so it will take a bit of time!

    Love your podcast, and I am glad I found something else to fill my ears while doing some warm summer night knitting by the pool.

    (Is it cold in your part of Oz right now, or does it always stay warm where you are?)

    Best,

    Trish in Maryland, USA

    Comment by Trish | 22 July 2007 | Reply

  9. I tried being patient and quiet. That has not worked. I miss your podcast and your show notes. So could you please put a small update to tide me over? Something about the cats or your knitting or your knitting group? Anything? Please?
    Please?

    Comment by Orghlaith | 4 August 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

