Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 24 – Knitting leaks

In Australia, you can get Wild Fibers Magazine from Ewe give me the knits along with lots of roving and spinning supplies, and some wonderful exotic fibres. Thanks very much to Mandie for hand dyed merino and the sample pack.
And for that exotic holiday, once you’ve read the magazine why not Bhutan.
This week’s interview from the Royal Easter Show is with Geoff Farman of Flowerdale Alpacas.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Knit in Public Day – Hoboken NJ   Pier A Park Gazebo, 11am to 4 pm
Knit in Public Day – Sydney   Sidewalk Cafe at the Opera House, from 2pm.
Knitters Connection   A knitting event that features Sally Melville, Cat Bordhi and 10 other knitting teachers teaching 35 classes June 6 – 10 2007 at the Hyatt Regency Columbus
Knitter\’s Weekend   A weekend of knitting in Lower Hutt, New Zealand
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Ehren Starks    The tale of room 620     (Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Other
Wild Fibers Magazine  from Wild Fibers Magazine (link)
Heilo Yarn  from Dale of Norway (link)

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

27 May 2007 - Posted by | knitting

8 Comments »

  1. Another great show! I especially liked your essay this week on how knitting leaks. Have a great week!

    Comment by Cynthia | 28 May 2007

  2. G’day David!

    Great show! You make me feel like getting an Alpaca! :-p

    Comment by Elemmaciltur | 29 May 2007

  3. I really enjoyed listening to your interview with Geoff Farman. I never really thought about where the fiber comes from. Thanks 🙂

    Comment by Andi | 30 May 2007

  4. Thank you for another great show. You kept me company on my 40 minute drive to town (your podcast is the perfect length for commuting!)

    I found the alpaca story fascinating and it made me want to contact some of the alpaca farms in my area to see if I can visit them. I also loved the concept of ‘knitting leaks’. I never thought about it that way, but it describes my life perfectly.

    Comment by Kathy | 30 May 2007

  5. I had such a busy week-end (I had an Etsy showcase and made three sales) I forgot to catch up until Tuesday and am only just emailing thanks now (and it’s Wednesday night!!)

    Yes, I know the feeling about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. It will have to be read by Monday, although if you can get the audio book – Stephen Fry is superb and meant to be coming out on launch day so you could knit and read at the same time – just don’t try the lace shawl. Post Book 7 the HP community will explode into discussion and debate and the best place for discussion after the event will be http://www.beyondhogwarts.com – balanced, sensible and not as freaky teeny as some other sites.

    Much fascinating information on the alpaca’s and I absolutely love the lady who comments on the knitting. She is scary isn’t she – so knowledgeable and just like a teacher I used to have, you couldn’t get anything past her…..

    Nice to hear the cats again :-))

    Comment by Marjorie | 30 May 2007

  6. and what about Bella’s jumper???

    Comment by Marjorie | 30 May 2007

  7. David,

    I really enjoyed your roadtrip episode, and I’m saving #24 as a special treat for my next outdoor exercise jaunt.

    I came across this article about an event called SPIN in Melbourne and thought I would pass on the information link in case you hadn’t found this yet

    http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,21834187-2862,00.html

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Comment by Marce | 2 June 2007

  8. I cannot tell you how much I enjoy your show, from the music selections to the interviews and especially the essays. I find it a source of inspiration and can hardly
    wait for the next show.

    I am just old enough to remember when I was a preschooler that the engines coming through my town here were steam engines on the freight trains. At that time, passenger trains (we have none of those now) were already diesel. I remember lying in bed at night and listening to the whistle and puff of the big black Santa Fe trains.

    Comment by Panhandle Jane | 10 June 2007


Leave a Reply

