Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 22 – A sense of place

World Wide Knit In Public Day: Join us at the Sidewalk Cafe near Sydney Opera House from 2 pm, bring your knitting and a folding chair.
Don’t forget Knitter’s Connection is coming up (link below).
And 2 new podcasts:
Changelings knit and stitch podcast (here)
Knit Picks podcast (here)

What’s happening
Canberra knitting \’week\’   A big fibre festival on Sunday 20 May.
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Knitters Connection   A knitting event that features Sally Melville, Cat Bordhi and 10 other knitting teachers teaching 35 classes June 6 – 10 2007 at the Hyatt Regency Columbus
Knitter\’s Weekend   A weekend of knitting in Lower Hutt, New Zealand
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Curandero    Llorando     ( Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Cables Untangled  by Melissa Leapman (link)
Other
GoKnit Pouch  from Know Knits.com (link)

The Sticks & String Colourway from Scout’s Swag.Knitting from the Easter ShowKnitting from the Easter Show

A big thank you to everyone who contributed to this week’s show. Kris Supierz of the Weavers and Spinners Guild and Ann Westren of the NSW Knitters Guild for their time.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

13 May 2007 - Posted by | knitting

13 Comments »

  1. The podcast was wonderful as always! I especially enjoy “At the Bottom of the Knitting Bag”, you have a great way of reviewing what you are working with and I have gone out and purchased (and thoroughly enjoy) more than one of the books you have recommended. Thank you!
    – Jenn
    http://www.rhymeswithsocks.blogspot.com

    Comment by Jennifer Jacques | 14 May 2007

  2. Hey David~~
    I been always injoyed your podcast..IT is great to hear guy-knitter being our knitting community doing fabulous podcast!!
    I just want to say Thank You and now as your fan, be aways
    our knitting podcaster!!!
    By the way…Check my blog and Knitting blog Review for me!!! If dont mind!!(I will update more hand-dye yarn for sell) http://charleslifeknitting.blogspot.com/

    Thanks again!
    Charles

    Comment by Charles | 14 May 2007

  3. I always enjoy your podcast so much. You seem to recommend books I really enjoy and your essays and interviews are always lovely to listen to.

    I too have a GoKnit pouch, in camo. It’s so handy to clip on to the belt of my jeans or purse, stores a pair of socks and pattern perfectly and accompanies me everywhere. Mostly to my son’s rugby practices, yep, the socks see a lot of rugby action.

    Anyway, great podcast, glad you are back from your break.

    Comment by marnie | 15 May 2007

  4. Hi, I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your podcast, it’s in my top two! I lived in the Blue Mountains when I was a very little girl, so it was also nice to discover from this page that that’s where you are!

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    Comment by Pen | 15 May 2007

  5. G’day David,

    As always, great episode! And thanks for introducing the two new podcasts…now that one (Unwound) has ended.

    Comment by Elemmaciltur | 15 May 2007

  6. Dave

    I have found the following that I thought you might be interested in. A knitting book for men.
    Don’t know if you have already come across it, I am working my way though your podcasts from the beginning and enjoying them tremendously. I am a huge fan of Brenda Dayne and believe your podcasts could become as popular. You have the voice, the brains and the personality.

    Best wishes and keep up the good work.

    P.

    Knitting with Balls: A hands-on guide to knitting for the modern man
    by Michael del Vecchio
    DK Publishing
    $20.00 USD
    SR: 38″ – 60.5″

    A stylish book of knitting patterns and how-to by the editor of Menknit magazine. I did a quick and non-scientific pass around to men I know, both who knit and others who just enjoy wearing knits and each one found several things they wanted to make or own — the aran laptop bag was the all-around hit.

    And even though it’s a book of men’s patterns, I have a few marked for myself.

    Comment by Penny | 16 May 2007

  7. I was sorry I missed Sarah demonstrating the Great Wheel at the Easter Show– I think that would have been my only reason to go– but I was lucky enough to have seen her demo it during my spinning class at the Guild. She’s a fantastic spinner and used to be part of an historical recreation group in the UK.

    Comment by Andrea Roceal James | 16 May 2007

  8. Oh I’m so glad you got the pictures up. The lady commenting sounds nice but scarily knowedgeable (I would have hidden my knitting if I knew she was coming!).

    I also like the Magantune music a lot, I aim to buy some of the cymbalom music, for some reason I work in the studio really well to that. I can’t work to opera much though – much as I like it. and NZ Opera’s Turandot is coming later in the year yaaay.

    The ‘knit and listen’ side of things has ground to a halt as a friend’s cat is seriously ill and no-one can knit at the mo’. Fingers crossed he keeps a paw on life so I can knit again.

    Comment by Marjorie | 17 May 2007

  9. http://the-fantail.blogspot.com/

    There’s a picture of Isaac here – just in case.

    Comment by Marjorie | 17 May 2007

  10. Hello David: Just found your podcast site about ten days ago. Since then, I have listened to everyone of your podcasts and I have learned so much, had a few chuckles and now I am in withdrawal and will have to wait until Sunday for the next podcast.
    I appreciate the book reviews and also the ‘bottom of the knitting bag’. Keep up the good work!
    I enjoy hearing the cats too.

    Comment by Peg | 18 May 2007

  11. Hey David!

    I’ve been listenin for a few weeks and am catching up on episodes from the begining. What fun! I think your podcast is quite great and I appreciate your easygoing attitude toward podcasting and knitting. My website isn’t too much about knitting, but I certainly am one with fiber issues.

    I’m in the middle of an 11 day work trip across the south and southwest of the USofA. Hello from Texas! I’ll be back with the family next Friday in New Jersey. Fortunately I’ve got my knitting to make the trip much more pleasant.

    Keep up the good work!

    Alissa

    Comment by Alissa | 20 May 2007

  12. David,
    I have lurked too long. I am a faithful listener and I wanted to “surface” and tell you that your a fantastic podcaster. Your essays are so well put together and I look forward to the interview and book review portions with great anticipation. Please keep at this – your podcast is a real treat!

    Comment by Marceline | 25 May 2007

  13. Hey Dave,
    I borrowed the Elizabeth Zimmerman “Knitting Workshop” videos from the library and as I started to watch them, the music seemed familiar. When I read the credits, I realized that it’s the same as the S&S theme. What a nice association. If you haven’t already seen them, you should check them out. It’s like learning to knit with your favorite auntie. EZ is simply charming.

    No need to reply–I know you’re swamped. I just thought I’d drop you a note. I’m still working my way through the podcasts and I ration them out so I won’t get done too fast!

    Knit on!
    Trish

    Comment by Trish | 10 November 2007


Leave a Reply

