Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 18 – Doing it in public

This week: hints on knitting in public, some wonderful listener conributions.
Countdown to the Chaser.
Kris’ blog is here.
Terry’s site is here.

What’s happening
121st Hawkesbury Show   Get your entries in for this year’s show by 5 April.
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Knitters Connection   A knitting event that features Sally Melville, Cat Bordhi and 10 other knitting teachers teaching 35 classes June 6 – 10 2007 at the Hyatt Regency Columbus
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Royal Easter Show   Sydney’s most prestigious knitting competition.
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Jamie Janover and Michael Masley    Innerlude     ( Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
Knitting Without Tears  by Elizabeth Zimmerman (link)

Thanks to Geraldine and Rebecca for this week’s knitting story.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

25 March 2007 - Posted by | knitting

15 Comments »

  1. Mandatory voting . . . what is the penalty if you don’t show up to vote? Transportation?

    Comment by Tan | 26 March 2007 | Reply

  2. Did you forget to update I tunes?
    Love the show. It’s spring here in the mid US and I am spending time in my garden too! The BT lizards are more attractive than I expected.
    Well keep casting, and I’ll keep listening.

    Comment by tonya leach trickel | 26 March 2007 | Reply

  3. David, been listening to you since episode two or three I think, enjoy it a lot.

    For the pocket for your mum’s jumper (love those aussie terms!) I’d suggest Elizabeth Zimmermann’s “afterthought pocket”. She tells how to do it in “Knitting Without Tears” and in “Knitting Workshop” (there are some photo illustrations in “Workshop” that might be helpful).

    I used the afterthought pocket on the Norwegian Sweater, you can see it in the gallery at my Deviantart web site (the sweater that is mostly white with red lice and red and black patterning) and the Fair Isle Sweater (black background with some jewel toned fair isle type patterning).

    I like to use an i-cord bindoff at the top edge. On the Norwegian sweater, I highlighted the pocket with a contrast color I-cord, but on the fair isle sweater, I thought that it would be better if the pocket blended in, and so made the I-cord with the background color (one pocket is placed approximately where my daughter’s hand is, that’s how well it blends). The pocket itself is a single layer of knitted fabric, wider at the bottom than it is at the top, that is then sewn to the front fabric (EZ explains in more detail).

    Anyway, that gives you an idea of what the finished product looks like so that you can decide if it will work for what you have in mind.

    Thanks for your efforts to put out such a nice podcast!

    Comment by Kitty | 26 March 2007 | Reply

  4. Your tips for knitting in public were great. I often knit on my breaks at work and have managed to engage one of my young co-workers to the point that she switched her choice of major at Art College from Visual Communications to Fiber Arts and her choice of medium is… knitting. My 13-year-old son and I both enjoyed listening today. He quite enjoys your podcast–he always listens along with me–although he told me he just isn’t the knitting type he’s more the rugby playing type (which in Canada is the equivalent of an Australian playing hockey). He loved your reference to Wolvarine and that you said teachers don’t like report card time any more than the students. Anyway, great show.

    Comment by marnie | 26 March 2007 | Reply

  5. Great show.

    I am enjoying the new piano theme, but I also kind of miss the synthesizer. The piano makes an entirely new statement!

    Comment by GailB | 26 March 2007 | Reply

  6. Knitting cables on the train – I park my cable needle in my watch band, very handy 🙂

    Bev

    Comment by Bev Love | 27 March 2007 | Reply

  7. I enjoyed your essay. I agree that knitting in mass groups ends up being more of an ‘oddity’ than seeing the same person knit on the bus everyday. I’d be more likely to approach the one person versus the masses!

    The podcast was great. I love hearing the cats jingling! I can just see them wandering all over the place.

    Comment by Lynn | 27 March 2007 | Reply

  8. David,

    I was sitting this evening as I knit the second sock of pair I’ve been working on, and listened to your podcast. It was quite a pleasant surprise to hear you read my note to you. Thanks so much for linking to my website and for mentioning my book.

    And, by the by, I’m a woman. All my life, people have assumed from the spelling of my name that I’m male, so no worries about confusing my gender. 😉

    I love your podcast. Keep up the great work you are doing. You give me a bright spot each week when you upload a new ‘cast.

    ~Terry (who should by all rights and anatomy have been called a Terri)

    Comment by Terry Ross | 27 March 2007 | Reply

  9. Tsk, tsk, David. You can *totally* cable on the train! You just have to become proficient at cabling without a cable needle. I learned that one out of necessity a few years ago when the cat kept knocking my cable needle onto the floor. Now I never bother with a cable needle at all!

    Comment by Kris | 28 March 2007 | Reply

  10. David… Listening to show #18 as I write… I simply could not wait until the show was finished. I take my knitting everywhere I go, even if there is no hope of me getting a chance to knit, (just in case).

    I have never had a bad experience out in public, either and love to explain to people what I am doing. I take it choir practice every week because it’s a bilingual choir and I only sing at the English masses… SO I knit while the rest practice the Spanish songs… you said it, “guilt free”.

    I take it to church meetings, doctor’s office, I even took it to a chamber music concert last year… pretty much anywhere. I am blessed to have a hubby that does not feel embarrassed, as some are when their wives do a little something out of the norm in public.

    David, love your show and the music you play on it. Calming, yet so lively, if that makes any sense. I am listening now to a nice tinkly instrument. Is that a harpsichord?

    Thanks so much for your blog and podcast. I will get back to my knitting now!

    Sincerely,
    Debbie

    Comment by dragonmommie | 29 March 2007 | Reply

  11. David
    Thanks for changing to the piano for your opening and closing music sets the tone so beautifully.

    Comment by missfee | 30 March 2007 | Reply

  12. I must say, having just started this episode, I love this new version of your intro music much better 🙂

    Comment by Kristin | 31 March 2007 | Reply

  13. Regarding the knitting in public – I was dragged to court once as moral support for someone and I got quite a lot done on my baby blanket. 🙂

    Comment by Franki | 31 March 2007 | Reply

  14. I do like the new intro music to the podcast a bit better. It sounds much classier with the piano, although the synthesizer was fine. I so enjoy listening to your podcast. I just got caught up today and I was a bit sad that I now have to wait until Sunday for a new podcast.

    I received some yarn from a friend today that is labeled Gaywool Yarns and it’s an Australian merino wool that is 8 ply. It does not list the yardage and I was wondering if you knew anything about it? I’ve tried Googling it without much success. Thanks for any help you can provide.

    Comment by Wanda | 31 March 2007 | Reply

  15. I love your podcast. Looking forward to many more episodes.

    Comment by Laritza | 1 April 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

