Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 15 – Pass it on

This week, the joy of teaching, and we hear of how a 7 year-old learning to knit ‘infected’ a whole family with the bug. I review The Art of Fair Isle Knitting and two of my favourite movies Breaking Away and Separate Tables.

What’s happening
121st Hawkesbury Show   Get your entries in for this year’s show by 5 April.
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch   Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Knitters Connection   A knitting event that features Sally Melville, Cat Bordhi and 10 other knitting teachers teaching 35 classes June 6 – 10 2007 at the Hyatt Regency Columbus
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division)   3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Royal Easter Show   Sydney’s most prestigious knitting competition.
Sydney Sity Klickers   Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Solace    Exile     ( Magnatune)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Books
The Art of Fair Isle Knitting  by  (link)
Other
Breaking Away  from 20th Century Fox (link)
Separate Tables  from MGM (link)

The Book Depository in the UK can be found here. Free shipping to Australia!

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

4 March 2007 - Posted by | knitting

10 Comments »

  1. Hi, David, It is actually safe to go to the Rockin’ Sock Club blog since there is a strict no-spoiling rule there. People are linking to their blogs, where they are spoiling like crazy, of course. Not all the kits made it out during the week. A power failure stopped them in their tracks. If you check the Sock Club blog you will see an immense pile of boxes that were still there on Friday. To make it more difficult to be sure if your box has shipped, they turned off their email notification feature sometime during the week because people were getting multiple emails. I’m enjoying your podcast from snowy Utah, USA.

    Comment by Tan | 5 March 2007 | Reply

  2. Aloha David,

    This week’s podcast was as great as all the rest have been. Your essays are my favorite part of the podcast–I’m so very honored that you used my story in your essay! I’ve shared it with all of my knitting family 🙂

    Teri

    Comment by Teri | 6 March 2007 | Reply

  3. Hi, David. I haven’t checked in for a while, but I’ve been following the show. I envy the bead markers you’ve made. The ones I made for myself some time ago were rather clumsy attempts at beading. I’ll have to try your method.

    I’ve been listening faithfully, and the shows just get better. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by geogrrl | 6 March 2007 | Reply

  4. I meant to mention–our one cat is a burmese. We found him as a stray kitten. We weren’t entirely sure what he was for a while–perhaps a Siamese or Abyssinian mix. Now he’s an adult, we’re pretty sure Burmese. His fur is a matte black, so attempts to photograph have been unsuccessful. We get a cat-shaped shadow with large yellow eyes.

    Comment by geogrrl | 6 March 2007 | Reply

  5. Hi, David — thanks so much for sharing your favorite movies in this episode. I honestly think that what makes a movie great is not what Best Of list it appears on, but by how it touches someone, so it was nice to hear about the movies that made an impact on you.

    Comment by katherine | 8 March 2007 | Reply

  6. Am I right in rembering that this is the weekend that your podcast might be AmazinglyLate, ButStillTheWeekend? I know it usually doesn’t arrive here in New Zealand until Monday morning, but I was just wondering…….

    Can’t wait to see how Bella’s little woolly is coming along.

    Comment by Marjorie | 11 March 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi Dave,
    I’ve been listening to you for some time now and so I thought I would finally leave you a message. I love your podcast and I listen while I’m planning and correcting at work. I’m a American teacher living in Germany teaching Spanish, English and swimming. I especially enjoyed your essay this week because I’m teaching my 3rd grade ESL class to knit and I’m very much enjoying how they are coming along. Keep up the fabulous show-you’re wonderful to listen to. 🙂

    Comment by kimberly | 12 March 2007 | Reply

  8. Hi, David,

    I’m way behind listening to your podcasts, but I’m enjoying them thoroughly! I’ve actually just listend to your theories on why we give our work away, and I can hardly wait to sync my iPod and listen to the next installment, and the next and the next! I usually listen when I’m on the train to or from work, just as you knit on your trips. Thanks so much for sharing. Oh – and I love hearing Tikka and Tiger in the background.

    Comment by Ann | 14 March 2007 | Reply

  9. Hi David,
    Just wanted to let you know that I enjoy your podcast very much. It’s one of the few–come to think about it, it’s the only–where I don’t skip over the songs. I really like your track choices. It’s also refreshing to hear a man’s POV about knitting, fiber, and life in general.

    As you can tell, I’m a bit behind in my listening but that’s only because I listen to my podcasts in alphabetical order on my iPod and it takes me a while to get to the “S”s. Never fear, I’ll be there soon and I’ll be all caught up in no time.

    Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Janice | 27 March 2007 | Reply

  10. Hello,

    I’ve obtained Jamieson and Smith in two ways.

    1) Order through the US. Not recommended, as it cost a minor fortune ($120 for a vest worth of yarn!)

    2) Order direct from Jamieson and Smith, by writing a letter, including my credit card number and what I wanted. Recommended, despite needing to use an actual stamp!

    http://www.shetland-wool-brokers.zetnet.co.uk/2plyjump.htm

    Cheers,

    Emma

    Comment by Emma | 10 April 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

