Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 13 – Man the knitter

In this week’s show we hear about the latest Stitches and Craft show, and how bags are carried at such events.
There’s a review of the new Yarn Forward Magazine.
Biscuit recipies came from here.

What’s happening
Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch Every Sunday at the Courthouse Hotel Newtown 1:30pm
Knitters Connection A knitting event that features Sally Melville, Cat Bordhi and 10 other knitting teachers teaching 35 classes June 6 – 10 2007 at the Hyatt Regency Columbus
NSW Knitters Guild (Blue Mountains Division) 3rd Saturday of each month at the Blaxland Community Centre
Sydney Royal Easter Show Sydney’s most prestigious knitting competition.
Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday at Barmuda, Australia Street Newtown

This show’s music
Rob Costlow    Woods of Chaos     ( Podsafe)

From the bottom of the knitting bag
Other
Daylight Armchair Magnifying Lamp  from Daylight (link)

Check out Miss Ginger’s work here. And a big thank you to Elizabeth Green Musselman for her wonderful essay that is in this week’s show.

Click here to play the show using your computer’s audio player.

You can contact me at david AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au or
podcast AT sticksandstring DOT com DOT au
I’m sure that you know to replace the at with AT with @ and DOT with . but maybe the spam bots won’t.

17 February 2007 - Posted by | knitting

16 Comments »

  1. Am I just being a moron or is there no link to the show?

    Comment by scout | 18 February 2007 | Reply

  2. Whew. I’m glad it’s not just me!

    Comment by Judy | 18 February 2007 | Reply

  3. Not just you – I couldn’t find it either!

    Comment by Heather | 18 February 2007 | Reply

  4. Are “biscuits” in AU the same as “biscuits” in the UK?
    (In American, they’re cookies.)

    I’m glad to have a “how-to” for the row counters because they’re a great idea. With instructions I may even make some. Thanks for another great show.

    Comment by Gail | 18 February 2007 | Reply

  5. Sorry, the show link is up now (and the events). I used the new software to generate the page, and it adds them automatically when the show is published, but I forgot that and just did it from the first file it generated. It might go live this week…

    Comment by David Reidy | 18 February 2007 | Reply

  6. I was going to tell you not to tease like that!

    Comment by scout | 18 February 2007 | Reply

  7. I still can’t find the new show on iTunes. What on earth am I doing wrong * sob *

    Marjorie

    Comment by Marjorie | 18 February 2007 | Reply

  8. I got it *yaaay *.

    Sheesh!!! Listening to Sticks and String on a Monday! (Right, I”m spoiled)

    OK, OK so I can try and do it while I decrease on my Rowan Big Wool cardigan left front – I know, I know……

    Marjorie
    (off to find out what a dog-y yarn snob has to do with anything)

    Comment by Marjorie | 19 February 2007 | Reply

  9. I am excited to see the stitch markers. Enjoy the show – as always!!

    Comment by knitkim | 19 February 2007 | Reply

  10. David! I finally got to listen to a bunch of shows today. I subscribed ages ago but just haven’t had the time and space to sit and listen (while knitting, obviously).

    Love it. Love it! Well done. I’ve covered about the first 7 episodes on my lovely day off today. Very enjoyable, so thank you.

    Bells

    Comment by Bells | 19 February 2007 | Reply

  11. Great show, David, as always.

    Comment by Kerry | 20 February 2007 | Reply

  12. Did I miss the link to the Stitchy McYarnpants interview?

    You are doing a lovely job with this podcast. I look forward to listening!

    Comment by ninaclock | 21 February 2007 | Reply

  13. I finally had a chance to listen to this week’s show. I can’t say enough how nice it is to listen to your show. It’s intelligent, always entertaining and in the chaos that is often my life… I find it incredibly soothing as well. Thanks again.

    Comment by marnie | 21 February 2007 | Reply

  14. David, I’m really enjoying your podcast. We spent some time in Sydney about six years ago and your voice brings back memories of a lovely time.

    I’m amazed with your breadth of knowledge — astrophysics, computers, knitting, spinning, cookie baking? And I love your music choices.

    Keep up the good work. It’s great to have your insight into men’s knitting. And, by the way, if that lady had handed ME the packages, I would have taken them! After all, wool is wool.

    Penny

    Comment by Penny in Kentucky | 21 February 2007 | Reply

  15. I love the podcast and the music picks each week are amazing! This week was excellent as always. I also just wanted to let you know that tiger tail is called that because if you get a piece that has a clear coating it looks like the metal is striped. A little bit of beading trivia for you.

    Comment by Maggie | 23 February 2007 | Reply

  16. Great Podcast! I love the music selection this week so much that I went and got both of his albums and the sheet music to try my hand at playing the music he makes.
    I love the stitch markers and think the are super cool. I am a software engineer so anything that brings knitting and my job closer together is well worth it.

    Keep on podcasting and don’t worry about the cats in the background it gives character to your show.

    Can’t wait to hear the next one!
    Good day to you

    Comment by Rebecca | 2 March 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

