Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 9 – Nundle

Welcome to show 9, This week we travel to Nundle.

There’s no essay this week as the Nundle trip story takes it’s place (and the ‘Unravelling Yarns’ one I had written really needs a good edit and rewrite to be ready).

What’s happening
Courthouse stitch’n’bitch – Sundays 1:30 – Check the website for the January meetings.
Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday afternoon – Back again 6 January
NSW Knitter’s Guild – Blue Mountains – 3rd Saturday of each month
Long Island Knitting and Crochet Guild (link to a page with their details, scroll down a little way) Westbury Library – 2nd Thursday of each month
Sydney Royal Easter Show 5 – 18 April 2007- Competition details. Arts entries close 20 December so you’re too late!

The links to sites throughout the show:
Knit 2 Together
Creative Knitting Magazine
Nundle Woollen Mill – Thanks to Megan Trowsdale for the interview
Lara’s blog about the Nundle trip.

 This show’s music
This week’s tracks come from the Podsafe music network.
And Magnatune
(Except for the little bit of Bach at the beginning and end, that’s me on a synthesiser.)
Bill Sound Scientist (link)
Curandero Tranquilo (link)

Link to the show file
Show 9 – Nundle

Spinning mentioned only briefly this week – I haven’t had much of a chance to get any done, but I did manage to get more very lumpy art yarn.

You can contact me at: podcast at sticksandstring dot com dot au (I’m sure you know to replace the at with @ and the dot with . but perhaps the spam bots won’t.)

If you’d like to contribute to Sticks & String, guest essays, reviews, suggestions of music, people to interview, please just let me know. And please let me know about your knitting group I’d love to have to start a whole separate page because the list is too long.

30 December 2006 - Posted by | knitting

16 Comments »

  1. good to hear you are back.
    sending comforting thoughts your way.

    Comment by profbookwurmknits | 30 December 2006

  2. Hi David,
    Great to have you back. Glad to hear the cardigan was finished in time.

    A couple of comments on the latest episode. First of all, we DO wear jumpers on the Gold Coast. Maybe only two days per annum, but they are worn!

    Secondly, Creative Knitting has gone through heaps of editors and changes. It started out as a knitting only mag, then the crochet was added. The patterns used to be good. Then they went through the ‘eyelash yarn’ phase where that was the trim on just about every pattern.

    Personally, I blame myself for taking out a subscription a few years back. There is a curse, you know. So, I’ll take this opportunity to apologise to the knitting community and let you know that all other mags are safe.

    Comment by Fiona | 30 December 2006

  3. Logged on to ITunes and it’s downloading Sticks ‘N String!!!!!! I gave a small quiet cheer yaaaaay (and rushed to rescue the new kittens from trashing a wet umbrella by the front door….)

    A very warm welcome back, and I hope you are OK.

    I’m still greatly pleased you finished your Mum’s cardigan for Christmas. I made mine a quilt this year as its supposed to get cold in winter in the U.K.

    Marjorie
    (and the cats + Dash and Dot – new kittens)

    Comment by Marjorie | 30 December 2006

  4. P.S.

    It’s nearly bedtime and I now have to show monumental restraint and not listen to the podcast until tomorrow morning.

    I will not rush through Sunday morning breakfast and hurtle into my studio to turn the computer on and listen. No,really, I won’t……

    Marjorie

    Comment by Marjorie | 30 December 2006

  5. So sorry to read your sad news when I got to your site today.
    Can’t wait to hear about the Nundle trip – I got some colour cards last year from them and had completely forgotten about them until now. Thanks so much for the great podcast – I have really enjoyed listening to them all.

    Comment by Kate | 30 December 2006

  6. As I went about my Christmas visits, I found myself wondering about your mum’s cardigan and whether it got finished! Yes! Lunchtime on Christmas day counts. (High five!)

    While I was away, I had to sneak iTunes onto my dad’s computer to check for new podcasts, so I wasn’t surprised when there wasn’t one from you. I was glad to hear from you today, but very sorry to learn of your family’s loss.

    The music you chose this week was even more awesome than usual. Thank goodness for the blog links to make follow-up easy.

    Comment by Gail (North Carolina) | 31 December 2006

  7. I have just learned of your loss, and wanted to express my sorrow. My own brother passed quite unexpectedly at the young age of 46. I lost a part of myself that very day. Please express my condolences to your mother. Parents are not meant to bury their children, it should always be the other way around. But life doesn’t have rules, does it?

    Selfishly, I am glad you’re continuing your show. May the New Year bring you and your family peace –

    Toni (New Jersey)

    Comment by Toni | 31 December 2006

  8. I was so sorry to hear of your loss; it’s especially hard when it happens over a holiday. Somehow that holiday is never the same.

    Thanks for the podcast – I love visiting mills, even virtually. As for the term “haberdashery”, I thought it meant a men’s clothing store – suits, ties, shirts, etc.

    Comment by Elizabeth | 1 January 2007

  9. David,

    I am truly sorry to hear about your loss. Please know that you and your family are in my thoughts.

    I’ve been meaning to let you know how much I enjoy listening to your podcast. Thank you for putting so much time and effort into sharing your unique perspective with the knitting community. I look forward to each episode.

    I hope the New Year brings happy times to you and your family.

    Comment by Cyn | 1 January 2007

  10. Happy New Year, David.

    Forgot to say – love the little one in the hat, she looks wonderful and I adore hearing how the feline beasties are getting along. Keep slinging “habrdashery” and “sweaters” about, it’s what dictionaries were invented for :-)))

    Marjorie

    Comment by Marjorie | 1 January 2007

  11. hi David- I also can’t stand Creative Knitting. I don’t hate the new-ish magazine called “Yarn” yet though, why not check it out? It’s Australian and they’re improving with every issue I think. The Summer issue is out, and it seems to be fairly ubiquitous in newsagents.

    Comment by Hope | 2 January 2007

  12. Happy New Year, David. I’m saving the podcast for my return to work on Wednesday. Nice to have you back as a walking companion.

    Comment by Celia | 3 January 2007

  13. Finally got to hear the podcast – Nundle sounds great – just a quick trip up the Putty Rd? I might have to go for a wee drive myself. Happy New Year.

    Comment by Kate | 3 January 2007

  14. David,

    So glad to have you back. I visited the Nundle site and was greatly impressed. If we ever make it to Aus., I’ll have that on my list of must-sees (despite the inevitable protests from my husband).

    Thanks for the fab new edition. I’ve linked you on my new blog, such as it is. You’re bound to be linked to many more out there. Here’s hoping you get so many e-mails of support for your efforts, you won’t have time to answer them!

    May your new year be filled comfort, family, and lots of good wool.

    Denelle in TN

    Comment by Denelle | 4 January 2007

  15. David,

    My kids gave me an Ipod for Christmas, and I’m just now getting comfortable with I-Tunes.

    I’m a huge Case-On fan, and I like to listen to the crazy Lime & Violet as well. But I want to tell you that I have just discovered your podcast, and I just love it. Your voice is so pleasant to listen to (you know, that’s so important for podcasts and audio books), and your essays are brilliant.

    I’ve downloaded all 9 of your episodes, and I’m stuck to my Ipod now. Keep up the good work — thanks for the effort, and I hope you have a great break during January.

    Sara

    Comment by Sara in Indiana (USA) | 5 January 2007

  16. David,
    I really enjoy your Podcast, and I’m looking forward to series 2. I find the history of knitting so interesting. I learned from my mom, then took lessons in my 20’s. My grandmother is still an obsessed crocheter (is that a word?)

    I’m very sorry to hear about your sister. I lost my mom earlier this year. It’s never easy, but I found that it helped me reflect on the value of all of my relationships. It also reminded me to treasure every moment.

    “See” you in Feb!

    Comment by Wendy DG | 8 January 2007


Leave a Reply

