Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Midweek update (27 December)

Thanks everyone for the messages of support over the past week. Your kind words have made me smile many times, I gave mum a printed copy of the comments (she says she’s too old to ‘learn a computer’) and she appreciated them too.

Show 9 is on track and should be up, on time, this Saturday. It has the first of the Nundle interviews in it and the theme is how knitting touches those who don’t knit. The cardigan got finished in time for Christmas (lunch).

Until the weekend, all the best,

David.

28 December 2006 - Posted by | knitting

11 Comments »

  1. Hope this week wasn’t too rotten. Emma and I are doing a yarn shop crawl this afternoon – give me a call if you’re in town.

    Comment by Lara | 28 December 2006

  2. glad to hear the cardigan was completed.
    look forward to hearing you soon.

    Comment by profbookwurmknits | 28 December 2006

  3. Well done with the cardigan, You mum must be pleased! Look forward to hearing from you (and hearing the cats chasing Magpies!)

    Marjorie
    (in Wellington, still waiting for summer!)

    Comment by Marjorie | 28 December 2006

  4. Hi David,

    I am a novice knitter and blogger. I started listening to your show recently after both Brenda Dayne and Lime & Violet mentioned Sticks & String. So far I’ve really enjoyed both the tone and content of your show.

    I’d like to pose a question to you (hopefully this is the appropriate spot). Over on whipup.net there has been some discussion about wool and the practice of mulesing. PETA claims it’s cruel and is boycotting wool while The Australian Wool and Sheep Industry Taskforce (woolisbest.com) asserts that it is necessary and is (obviously) promoting wool. Before I became aware of this issue, I hadn’t given wool much thought beyond – ooh pretty colours and hey I can felt this.

    As an Australian and a knitter, I am very much interested to know your thoughts/opinions (if any) on this. So finally my question – Is mulesing and wool discussed in your knitter’s circle, and if so, what’s the buzz?

    Many thanks for any thoughts you might have.
    Warmest Holiday Wishes,
    Carrie Ellis

    Comment by Carrie Ellis | 29 December 2006

  5. Blessings to your Mum, she should know what a good boy she’s raised ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy New Year, David…. and David’s Mum!

    Comment by Jenny | 29 December 2006

  6. May the coming year be one of peace and healing to you and your family. I was so sorry to hear of your sister’s passing.

    I’m glad you finished your Mum’s cardigan, may she wear it with joy.

    Looking forward to hearing more podcasts from you as you’re able (and as long as it brings you happiness to do them).

    kind regards
    Karen B (wife to a physicist who likes astronomy as a hobby)

    Comment by Karen | 29 December 2006

  7. Oh dear, I just realized having read your second to last post that this is neither the right spot, or the right time for my question. Unfortunately it does not appear that there is an undo button. My sincere apologies.

    Comment by Carrie Ellis | 29 December 2006

  8. great job, keep pod-ding

    Comment by jae | 30 December 2006

  9. David,

    Thanks so much for podcasting. I’ve really enjoyed all 8 of them so far! Keep up the great work, and I hope to keep enjoying your hard work throughout the new year (and I hope you enjoy it too!)

    Anna

    Comment by Anna | 30 December 2006

  10. Hi David. I have been listening to your podcasts since ep2. It is great to hear an Australian voice in the knitting world, especially an Aussie bloke. Where can I meet knitting blokes in Melbourne :)?
    Sorry to hear of your loss. I hope the messages on the board and your knitting give you the energy to be the tower of strength for your family.
    Look forward to hearing more.
    M

    Comment by Madeleine | 30 December 2006

  11. Hallo David – just heard the episode (hadn’t seen the blog updates previously) and wanted to offer my condolences to you and your family. My brother-in-law passed away this past year, and an essay I wrote about him and the (poorly fitting) sweater I’d knit for him as a Christmas gift was read by Brenda Dayne on Episode 21 of Cast-On http://www.cast-on.com/?p=40 .. the episode wound up including a number of beautiful contributions from various writers about the way we use knitting to overcome grief.

    Back to podcasting news: I appreciated both the sound-seeing tour of the mill, and the honest review of that knitting magazine – how shoddy! Maybe your next task is to create something worthy yourself! Looking forward to the next episode, whenever it happens, and hoping to be prepared to fill the time during your break with getting more of my own episodes up and running!

    Take care ๐Ÿ™‚

    Christa

    Comment by christagiles | 31 December 2006


Leave a Reply

