Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 8 – The Interknit

Welcome to show 8, This show’s theme is ‘The Interknit’.

The essay is available here.

What’s happening
Courthouse stitch’n’bitch – Sundays 1:30
Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday afternoon
NSW Knitter’s Guild – Blue Mountains – 3rd Saturday of each month
Long Island Knitting and Crochet Guild (link to a page with their details, scroll down a little way) Westbury Library – 2nd Thursday of each month
Sydney Royal Easter Show 5 – 18 April 2007- Competition details. Arts entries close 20 December

The links to sites throughout the show:
The Latvian NATO mittens
The knitalong listing
Franklin Habit
Dalegarn
Knitting Help
See Eunny Knit
Grumperina’s free patterns
Wendy Knits
Yarn Harlot
Savannah Chik
Knitty.com
Spinblessing
Dalegarn
The Torino 2006 “Sweater”

This show’s music
This week’s tracks come from the Podsafe music network.
(Except for the little bit of Bach at the beginning and end, that’s me on a synthesiser.)

Jonathan Coulton Mandelbrot Set (link)
Blazej Lindner Song For You (link)

Link to the show file
Show 8 – The Interknit

No spinning mentioned this week – I ran out of time. I really want to keep the shows between 30 and 40 mins (this week is about 35 mins). Also unless you’re really into overspun lumpy yarn, then you’re not missing anything. I have another lesson after I get the podcast out.

You can contact me at: podcast at sticksandstring dot com dot au (I’m sure you know to replace the at with @ and the dot with . but perhaps the spam bots won’t.)

If you’d like to contribute to Sticks & String, guest essays, reviews, suggestions of music, people to interview, please just let me know. And please let me know about your knitting group I’d love to have to start a whole separate page because the list is too long.

16 December 2006 - Posted by | Podcasting

17 Comments »

  1. Thanks for mentioning my blog, Habetrot, in your spot about the NATO Latvian mittens! I’ve never been podcast before. Just to be clear, all the information I had on my blog came from the official Riga summit website. It’s linked on the blog. Take a look at the rest of Habetrot, too. Lots of cool pictures about knitting and spinning and sheep and things. 😀

    Happy Christmas to you and the two T’s.

    Comment by Marcy | 16 December 2006

  2. Hi David,
    Lots of great links in this show – and an interesting essay. The mandelbrot song was cute and quirky, once I got used to the ‘zee’ instead of ‘zed’:-).
    Have a good time up in Nundle – you’re travelling in good company!

    Comment by Kate | 16 December 2006

  3. Good podcast David, I continue to enjoy the show. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Nundle.

    Comment by Kerry | 16 December 2006

  4. Hi David,
    I just discovered both your podcast and your blog and am thouroughly enjoying both. Knitty.com is a fantastic resource. I am fortunate that my LYS is owned by one of it’s regular contributors (she blogs as indigirl) , she wrote a pattern in the most recent isue of knitty called “Emerald” inspired by a retreat to Emerald Lake Lodge in the Canadian Rockies. It struck me as nearly the perfect cardigan jacket. She also contributed a “Universal Toe Up Sock” pattern to Knitty that has become pretty much the only sock pattern I use. Happy Holidays to you and yours.

    Comment by marnie | 18 December 2006

  5. David,
    I have recently just discovered the world of knitting podcasts, and I have to say that yours is my favorite. I really enjoy your content and discussion.

    Merry Christmas!
    Lisa

    Comment by Lisa, the Reluctant Texan | 18 December 2006

  6. Hello David! I really enjoyed your latest podcast (as much as all the others before) – you really do a great job. Your students are lucky to have you as an instructor.

    I just came across this blog today and thought you would like it very much: http://purlywhites.typepad.com/

    Her tutorial on toe up socks is one of the most clear and precise instructions (with lots of pics) that I have ever seen. Makes such an intimidating technique a cinch to follow.

    Happy holidays – looking forward to your next recording.

    Comment by Anna Marie | 19 December 2006

  7. David, thanks SO much for mentioning Knitting Help in your podcast! I hope that you receive as much benefit from this resource as I have… *hug*

    Comment by KellyK | 19 December 2006

  8. Another online knitting resource for you to look at is:

    http://www.magknits.com

    Some really nice patterns, and like Knitty they have an archive.

    Also, if you’ve never heard of them, KnitPicks is a great place to get yarn.

    http://www.knitpicks.com/

    I don’t know what the shipping would be to Australia, but their yarn prices are great and their needles are well worth the cost.

    My favourite circulars are the Addi Turbos (of course) although Aero, Susand Bates, and even Boye will do in a pinch. For dpns, I love Skacel. One thing to watch for in switching between brands: I’ve noticed that even if the needle size is the same (I work in mm, not US or British sizes) my gauge will change with the needle–tighter if the needle surface is slick (like Addi and Skacel) and looser if the needle surface is rougher. Something to consider when buying needles and knitting gauge swatches.

    Keep up the good work–I love the show.

    Colleen

    Comment by Geogrrl | 19 December 2006

  9. I’m going to try this again, as my previous post seems to have been eaten.

    Loved the show, great job as usual.

    One online resource you may want to check out:
    http://www.magknits.com/
    Like Knitty, they have an online archive of past patterns.

    A great place to buy yarn:
    http://www.knitpicks.com/
    Not sure what the postage is to Australia, but their yarn is very nice and the prices quite reasonable.

    A comment about needles and gauge. I’ve been knitting for some years, and only now have realized the following. The texture of the needle surface as well as the size makes a difference to the gauge. I work in mm, not the old sizing system, so when I refer to needle size, I mean exact size. I’ve noticed that when I work with my favourites, the Addi Turbo circulars and the Skacel dpns, I get a tighter gauge on the same size needle than I do with a needle with a less slippery surface–Aero, Susan Bates, Boye, or Phildar. Something to keep in mind.

    Comment by Geogrrl | 20 December 2006

  10. Dear David,

    I just started listening to your podcast and reading your posts as a suggestion from the Akamai Knitter when she posted about your site on her blog. I think you do a wonderful job and I wanted to thank you for sharing. Can’t wait to hear about your spinning experience. Happy Holidays!

    Comment by Jane | 20 December 2006

  11. Thanks again for an informative and interesting podcast. Hope you get time for some serious knitting over Xmas!

    Comment by Lizzy | 21 December 2006

  12. I loved you podcast it touched upon the blogs I certainly frequent and like most. Whats more is I really like the Internet…Its a fantastic resource. Good for you for encouraging blogs. Its the best thing ever! Thanks for the info.

    Comment by jae | 21 December 2006

  13. Have you read Brooklyn Tweed? He does some very beautiful work. http://brooklyntweed.blogspot.com/
    I enjoy your podcast – thanks.

    Comment by Nora | 22 December 2006

  14. Another great podcast. Thank you. I am also interested to hear that you are an EQ2 person as well, there a few knitting EQ2ers but it is not something that usually comes up when bashing Orcs or other uglies.

    For anyone else out there considering Blogging I would second David’s recommendation of WordPress. I use it on my site and it is wonderfully easy to set up and use. It is designed for those who want to blog not be techies!

    Comment by Eric | 22 December 2006

  15. Can’t believe that no one has commented on your “haberdashery” terminology or maybe you have MANY more listeners outside of the US!!

    We don’t have such a term in American English, although in Europe each country has their own word for a place where you can buy pins, threads, yarns, and more. Jane Brocket had a great posting on her blog on November 15 http://yarnstorm.blogs.com/knitblog/sewing/index.html– she got 50+ comments on fond memories of haberdasheries! Take a look — it’s a walk through memory lane with great photos of old spools of thread and other items.
    Maryjo

    Comment by Maryjo | 24 December 2006

  16. David,

    I just finished listening to this episode (and the first) as I am catching up to podcasting. I really noticed how you are getting more comfortable. I have met Mandlebrot twice through working at the same place, and it was quite an honor. I also went to Australia and NZ on my honeymoon in 2005. Love it there.

    Heather

    Comment by Heather | 10 January 2007

  17. I just found your podcast, fairly new to listening to them. I had an Australian exchange student live with me during my first year of high school, so it really gives me pleasure to listen to your accent. I’m from Michigan, so Australian accents are not common here. Good Luck with the Site/Podcast, I’ll be listening more regularly. I’ve just got to catch up.

    Comment by Hallie | 23 January 2007


Leave a Reply

