Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Midweek update – (6 December)

G’day all.

Show seven is coming along well, we’ll start looking at local yarn shops and what people want in a knitting shop. This week’s show has a wonderful essay with Jan of Katoomba Knitting (my local yarn shop) and a guest essay by Lara from my Sunday knitting group, you’ll really enjoy Lara’s vision of the ‘prefect’ yarn shop.

I’m collecting the wheel, an Ashford Traditional, on Thursday afternoon, so I’ll give you an update on how that’s going too.

Thanks to everyone who’s written in the past few weeks, I think I’ve caught up with all the emails. Getting the comments and messages is really great, so thanks for all of them.

 Expect the show early Saturday (unless I get carried away spinning).

 All the best,

David.

6 December 2006 - Posted by | knitting

6 Comments »

  1. I love your podcast. I do have a question about a term or word you use. I live in Seattle Washington USA, What is a “jumper” ? A jumper here in the US is a type of dress, generally,for a little girl. I hear you using this word when talking about men’s garments. I am quite confused…

    Comment by Lisa | 7 December 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi Lisa, I’m actually an American myself that’s been living in Australia for the past five years. The “jumper” thing is something I had to get used to (especially once I started working in a yarn store!). Here, “jumper” means “sweater.” They don’t say sweater, and I get corrected every time I use it on our store’s website. They know what a sweater is; it’s just that the word seems kinda icky. (Which I can see.) What we think of as a jumper they might call a “pinafore,” or even just a dress.

    Comment by Kris | 7 December 2006 | Reply

  3. Hi! I’m a new listener in America – Des Moines, Iowa, to be exact. I listen to your show during my 2-hour commute to photography school, and dream about the day when I’ll be done with school and can get back to my knitting. Great show – keep it up!

    Comment by Molly Dean | 7 December 2006 | Reply

  4. So, will the podcast become “Sticks and string and a spinning wheel”??

    Comment by Fi | 7 December 2006 | Reply

  5. I have to apologize – I didn’t play the promo on my most recent long overdue show! I’m so sorry, but I have it queued up and ready for the show next week. Promise!

    Comment by Christine | 8 December 2006 | Reply

  6. once you start spinning there is a ldy who sells carded fleece or spun wool or greasy fleece at the blue gum markets at springwood fourth saturday each month who is very helpful and really lovely. i have taken her my feeble attempts and she has been very helpful . i bought some beautiful mohair rolags from her a few markets ago . next market february

    Comment by diane | 8 December 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

