Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 4 – Knitting a community

Welcome to show 4, This show’s theme is ‘Knitting a community’.

The pumpkin hat I made this week was from Itty Bitty Hats by Susan B. Anderson.

Bella’s pumpkin hat

The yarn I used was the recommended Rowan cotton, and Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino.

The spinning shop is Petlin’s at Rhodes in Sydney.

And here’s the sock!

THE sock

The essay is available here.

What’s happening
Courthouse stitch’n’bitch – Sundays 1:30
Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday afternoon
NSW Knitter’s Guild – Blue Mountains – 3rd Saturday of each month
Long Island Knitting and Crochet Guild (link to a page with their details, scroll down a little way) Westbury Library – 2nd Thursday of each month
Sydney Royal Easter Show 5 – 18 April 2007- Competition details. Arts entries close 20 December

 There are so many spring fairs in the various towns throughout the mountains, I can’t keep up. Lawson is this weekend, and there are more to come. If I find something interesting, I’ll let you all know.

This show’s music
Two of this week’s tracks come from the Podsafe music network while one is from IODA.
(Except for the little bit of Bach at the beginning and end, that’s me on a synthesiser.)
Wren Ross After the ball is over (link)
Slow Burn (Download “Slow Burn” (mp3) from “Restless” by Gavin Lurssen MRG Recordings
Eoghan Colgan Sunny Days (link)

Link to the show file
Show 4 – Knitting a community

You can contact me at: podcast at sticksandstring dot com dot au (I’m sure you know to replace the at with @ and the dot with . but perhaps the spam bots won’t.)

If you’d like to contribute to Sticks & String, guest essays, reviews, suggestions of music, people to interview, please just let me know. And please let me know about your knitting group I’d love to have to start a whole separate page because the list is too long.

18 November 2006 - Posted by | knitting

14 Comments »

  1. I am downloading the podcast now! It is one of the great things about living in Japan … I am in the right time zone for a change! Thanks again!

    Comment by Meg | 18 November 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi David. Hope you’re well away from this week’s bushfires! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the first three episodes and I’m about to d/l this one. The hat and sock look wonderful and it’s great to see pics of what you’re working on. Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

    Comment by OzKnitter | 18 November 2006 | Reply

  3. Really enjoyed this weeks episode, especially the interview and your essay about community. Loved the bit about tongue knitting, picturing that gave me a giggle, especially as I have the same habit. heh

    Comment by missaisle | 18 November 2006 | Reply

  4. I can’t wait to listen tomorrow while I work! Did you get my e-mail??

    Comment by scout | 18 November 2006 | Reply

  5. Hi David, good podcast. I loved the parody of ‘After the ball’ and think you were spot on about the reasons for people coming together to knit. Often, these days, there is no sense of community where we live, so we make one where we can.

    Comment by Kerry | 18 November 2006 | Reply

  6. Hip knitted hats is a fantastic book for more grown up people by the way – lots of hats to suit women and men, and I love the construction as well! Keep up the AMAZING work with the podcast.

    Comment by Em | 19 November 2006 | Reply

  7. Hi! David,
    great podcast, thanks for being an Aussie bloke who knits and willing to do the Aussie thing in the podcast – refreshing to hear things happening locally for a change.
    Keep up the good work!
    Jane

    Comment by Jane | 19 November 2006 | Reply

  8. Hey, David! Another great show! Tongue knitting–now I have a label for what I do. I enjoyed your essay about community and think you’re absolutely correct. Here in the U.S. up until the electronic age, groups of people would gather around the potbellied stove in the general store in small towns and villages and build community.

    Comment by Steven | 20 November 2006 | Reply

  9. Fun! I really like the idea of knitting as an excuse to get together: too true. =D Another great episode, David. Thanks!

    Comment by Elinor | 20 November 2006 | Reply

  10. Hi,
    I have been meaning to leave a comment for four weeks now. (I am a bad listener.) I love your podcast and it is one that I wait for every week. I know you are just telling us about your knitting and your knitting community but it is nice to hear about places and communities that are outside of the United States.
    Thank you again for giving us your time,
    Stephanie/lumie

    Comment by Stephanie/lumie | 20 November 2006 | Reply

  11. First of all, thank you for the reply to my last comment; I was really pleased to hear from you.

    Next, loved the show. I agree with the idea that we tend to talk more freely about things when not face to face. For some reason it’s easier. I know when I go to my local knitting group, I get little knitting done–it’s mostly a social thing. Our group is also made up of people that crochet and tat and do other fibery things. It doesn’t matter.

    I recall Franklin Habit (blog name is “The Panopticon”) telling about how he was told, literally, not to come back to a SnB group because he was a man. One of the most breathtakingly rude things I’ve ever heard of. As you said, their loss–he went on to form his own SnB.

    I wanted to ask–how many hobbies do you have? I was interested to hear that you’re also a magician (I assume as a hobby). Really–I’m always fascinated by people who have a variety of interests.

    Anyway, keep it up; you’re doing a great job.

    And I’m glad you didn’t wind up having to stand with your feet apart.

    Colleen

    Comment by Geogrrl | 20 November 2006 | Reply

  12. just listened to this episode after hearing your spot on cast on. you have a really nice way with the microphone! i look forward to future episodes.

    kathryn
    providence, rhode island, usa

    Comment by kathryn | 20 November 2006 | Reply

  13. HI David! I just want to say that I’m really enjoying your podcasts. I heard about you through Lime and Violet as well as Brenda Dane! I am working on catchingup and am currently on show 4. I love the bits you put in about baby things because I will we an Aunt in April and am thinking of things to knit for the new little baby. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Michelle | 30 November 2006 | Reply

  14. Went back a bit to listen to some of the earliest podcasts this morning…LOVED this one! I even went back to listen to the song twice. However, when I tried to google what I believed to be the artists name – I couldn’t find it – so I had to go back to the show notes. I had the name spelled way wrong…good thing you have show notes! I’m seriously thinking about downloading some of his music – loved the Sunny Days song and his sound.

    Interesting essay too!

    Susan

    Comment by Susan | 24 March 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

