Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Midweek Update (15 November)

Well the second ball of sock yarn has arrived, there’s a special song in this week’s show to celebrate – and the dye lots match so there will be no need to stand funny.

Show 4 is well underway, the theme is “Knitting a community”. One more song still to find…

Lara, of the Courthouse Stitch’n’Bitch group kindly consented to be interviewed, so I’m editing that for this week’s show. If you’re a member of a group, thinking of joining or wanting to start your own, Lara’s got some advice. You may even hear her bunnies in the background.

I got to the spinning shop in plenty of time, did I successfully avoid buying a spinning wheel? You’ll have to listen in.

Given this week’s theme, please let me know your knitting group’s details and I’ll include a mention – also include a one or two line tag telling us all why your group’s special.

Look for the new show on Saturday.

 David.

15 November 2006 - Posted by | knitting

9 Comments »

  1. Oh my goddess I just aponed ur podcast, Briliiant I say, Finally a aussie one, yahhhhh, there was one a while back, but its just sorta ended.

    Great to hear, hope you dont mind but I will be letting the sibs over at my yahoo group Knitting-Australia know all bout this one

    Great work, keep it going pleaseeeeeeeeeee. Im running outta decent podcasts.

    Comment by Shazzy | 15 November 2006

  2. Erm… Just in case I said something stupid – please be kind David!

    PS. Cats are gorgeous

    Comment by Lara | 15 November 2006

  3. Listened to the latest podcast today while dyeing yarn and loved it! Just shot you off an e-mail too….

    Comment by scout | 16 November 2006

  4. You mention your lack of stash. I’m sure someone(s) in one of the local knitting groups would gladly give you lots of short bits from *their* stash. I’d even cheerily send you some myself, if I knew what sizes/colors/fibers you wanted — but there has to be someone *closer* (less postage, fuel and transit time) than Arizona! (;-)

    Comment by Deborah | 16 November 2006

  5. You mention your lack of stash. I’m sure someone(s) in one of the local knitting groups would gladly give you lots of short bits from *their* stash. I’d even cheerily send you some myself, if I knew what sizes/colors/fibers you wanted — but there has to be someone *closer* (less postage, fuel and transit time) than Arizona! (;-)

    Looking forward to your next show — Please keep ’em coming!

    Comment by Deborah | 16 November 2006

  6. Hi David,

    I just listened to Show 3, not knowing that you reviewed my book! What a pleasant surprise. Thanks for the kind words, it was great fun knitting and writing that book. Our knitting thoughts definitely crossed that day. As I was writing you about your new podcast, you were reviewing Itty-Bitty. Who knew?

    You have such an enjoyable podcast. Keep up the good work.

    Best,
    Susan

    Comment by Susan B. Anderson | 16 November 2006

  7. Just listed to your third podcast. I totally agree with the just do it attitude. You have to knit what is inspiring. Why trawl through dozens of 80s knitting books (often found in libraries) and be depressed? Go straight to the Interweave Knits and Vogue Knitting patterns I say =)

    Comment by Lien | 16 November 2006

  8. David, just found your podcast and love it. Will download the others soon, but wanted to say thanks, please keep it up! How about an article on “Blokes Who Knit” for our free online magazine Spins & Needles at http://www.thatspinningplace.com? We know you guys are out there, we just don’t see you very often! All the best, Wendy

    Comment by That Spinning Place | 17 November 2006

  9. David,
    Just wanted to drop you a note saying that I have listened to the first 3 episodes of your podcast and am thoroughly enjoying it. Keep up the good work! I like hearing a male perspective on knitting especially with such a great accent. I look forward to many more.

    Beth

    Comment by Beth | 19 November 2006


Leave a Reply

