Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Show 3 – Just cast on

Welcome to show 3, This show’s theme is ‘Just Do It’, hey that’s why this podshow exists.

The book I reviewed was Itty Bitty Hats by Susan B. Anderson

The booties are from Cleckheaton’s Little Babies Volume 2 the yarn is from Heirloom 4 ply.

The essay is available here.

What’s happening
Courthouse stitch’n’bitch – Sundays 1:30
Sydney Sity Klickers Every second Saturday afternoon
NSW Knitter’s Guild – Blue Mountains – 3rd Saturday of each month
Long Island Knitting and Crochet Guild (link to a page with their details, scroll down a little way) Westbury Library – 2nd Thursday of each month
Sydney Royal Easter Show 5 – 18 April 2007- Competition details. Arts entries close 20 December

 The Glenbrook Spring Fair is this weekend. I’ll have a report in Show 4.

This show’s music
All the music on this show comes from the Podsafe music network
(Except for the little bit of Bach at the beginning and end, that’s me on a synthesiser.)
Maria Daines Caliane (link)
Simon James Tollogong Queen (link)
Christopher Dallman Nighttime in the city (link)

From the bottom of the knitting bag:
Father Ted DVDs

Link to the show file
Show 3 – Just cast on

You can contact me at: podcast at sticksandstring dot com dot au (I’m sure you know to replace the at with @ and the dot with . but perhaps the spam bots won’t.)

If you’d like to contribute to Sticks & String, guest essays, reviews, suggestions of music, people to interview, please just let me know. And please let me know about your knitting group I’d love to have to start a whole separate page because the list is too long.

11 November 2006 - Posted by | knitting

35 Comments »

  1. Another lovely show. The thought of you standing with your feet far apart because the dye lots were different made me laugh out loud. I have the opposite problem – I have size 5 feet, which is not huge but not tiny either. However, I don’t like long socks so I knit them shorter and always end up with a fair bit of yarn left – I need to find some small projects to use it all up.

    So are we going to see pictures of your completed knitting?

    Comment by Kirsty | 11 November 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi David – I wonder if you have read the novel “Knitting” by Anne Bartlett. It’s set in Australia and features a legendary knitter called Martha who actually is knitting a horse throughout the book. It was all I could think of when you were talking about entering your horse in the Easter Show! Another great show, and great choices on the music! Sally

    Comment by Sally | 11 November 2006 | Reply

  3. I enjoyed your podcast…I heard about you on Cast On. Now I want to go back to the first two and catch up! Love your cat photos.

    Comment by jae | 11 November 2006 | Reply

  4. Nice show, David, and a good essay. Fr Ted is inspired TV.

    Comment by Kerry | 11 November 2006 | Reply

  5. I really enjoy your podcast David! Hear about on Cast On and Lime & Violet. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Donica | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  6. David, I once again thoroughly enjoyed the show. As another male knitter, it is so refreshing to hear a man talk as passionately about knitting as many males talk about sports or politics. Your music choices are great. They are very soothing. I appreciated your comments in your essay. They echo my feelings; I usually approach projects with the attitude that I’ll learn what I need to know as I go about doing it. I look forward to next week’s show!

    Comment by Steven | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  7. I just found your great podcast and have listened to all of them. I really enjoy your music selections, the bottom of the bag, and what you are knitting today items. The essays are my favorite part.

    Keep up the great work!

    Linda in Colorado Springs, CO, USA

    Comment by Linda in CS/CO | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  8. Hi David,

    Loved the essay. I recently helped a grade 3 class learn how to knit and was very careful not to describe any one part of it as difficult.

    I noticed in Debbie Stoller’s book on crochet (sorry for that lapse into the dark side) that she doesn’t rate the patterns, believing that the desire to make the article far outways and perceived level of difficulty!

    Comment by Fitknit | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  9. Sorry, that last comment should have read ‘any’ rather than ‘and’ in the last line.

    Comment by Fitknit | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  10. Hi David!
    Imagine my surprise when I saw the info on my knitting guild up on your page! Thank you, thank you for putting it up. I’ll let you know if we get any new members our way. Well, I’m off to listen to your podcast now. I am sure I am going to love it. Thanks again!

    Comment by Angela | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  11. I have the Itty Bitty Hats books and I love it but was surprised to find such heavy yarn being used on small heads :).

    Comment by Em | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  12. Glenbrook, Annangrove, Newtown – that was a busy Saturday you had. Another nice podcast with some laid back music. Looking forward to next week.

    Comment by Kate | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  13. Great show! Your essay inspired me to stop worrying about doing something wrong and to simply give it a go. Very inspirational.

    Comment by missaisle | 12 November 2006 | Reply

  14. Great show! I am a listener from Sweden. I think you should try spinning it is great fun.

    Comment by Barbro | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  15. David! I am home (Ohio) for a couple days from my most recent “truckie” adventures through the US. I was so surprised when you mentioned my original e-mail on your show! OK, OK, I am going to “go beyond the square”… Inspired, I went to the bookstore and bought two “Interweave Knits” magazines, “Wendy Knits”. and “The Knitter’s Companion”, with tips/techniques in a sprial-bound format. I will choose a project, buy some beautiful yarn and JUST CAST ON…

    Thank you for the sense of community you are creating… One with depth, humor, creativity (of course!), and inspiration. Unlike the modest comment on your first show, this is not “yet another knitting podcast” at all. Your podcast is unique and fills a void, which I am sure will soon be evidenced by an exponential growth in subscribers as kindred spirits wander their way in.

    Comment by Lori D. | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  16. David, Really enjoyed the show! I subscribe to your theory of “Just do it!” – when I first started knitting years ago, I would do projects just for the practice, to learn cables, to learn intarsia, to learn dpn’s. So now I’m not afraid of anything, well, perhaps steeking….

    I just went on to my library’s website and see that they have the complete Father Ted series on DVD on the shelf right now! But I have to wait until 1 PM when they open to get it! I try not to purchase DVD’s, and use the library when I can, but I do buy knitting books! Lots of them. Thanks for a great show!

    Comment by Kathy | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  17. Greetings from a Canadian currently in the southeastern US!

    Just wanted to say how much I’ve enjoyed your shows. I agree wholeheartedly with your “Just do it” philosophy toward knitting. The third thing I’d ever knitted in my life was a sweater (after two scarves). My mother, who had taught me to knit, never said it would be hard; she just encouraged me to do it. Admittedly, the philosophy of “how hard could it be?” has gotten me into trouble many times, but on the whole I think it’s better than hanging back.

    Your description of standing with your feet apart due to different dye lots in the socks made me laugh. I’m 3/4 of the way through the second of a pair of socks for a male friend of mine. Two skeins was NOT enough, and I’ve just ordered a 3rd. I’ve asked the retailer very nicely if they could dig up the same dye lot, but I’m not holding my breath. I’ll just tell my friend to stand with his feet a little further apart. 😀

    I also appreciate that you’re a scientist. I’m a geologist, in my last few years of grad school, and I think being a scientist encourages a more methodical approach. We learn more easily from books because that’s what we’ve always done. My mother taught me the basic knit and purl but everything I’ve learned after that I’ve taught myself from books.

    Comment by Geogrrl | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  18. David, your show is professionally put together, a really great listen, you have a good voice for audio, not monotonous! I am really impressed, love the music, love the stories.
    Wonderful to meet you, and hope the sock situation is under control!

    Comment by Jussi | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  19. Lovely show, again! I appreciated your “Just Do It” reminder, as I am currently lost in the maze of holiday knitting. I am desperate to knit something for ME, instead of everyone else. That is, as you reminded me, why I started knitting in the first place. Cheers!

    Comment by Jennie | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  20. Hi David– I saw the link to your new podcast on the Courthouse Stitch & Bitch mail list & just had time to listen to your episodes. Fantastic work! I look forward to the next episode, and perhaps we might meet some weekend at The Courthouse (if I can ever find time to go!). I just made my first visit to Katoomba last weekend– you are lucky to live in such a lovely place.

    Best,
    Andrea Roceal James

    Comment by ARJ | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  21. You’re knitting Torino? I thought I was the only one insane enough to do it in the southern hemisphere. I’m enjoying your podcast, and am looking forward to the next one. It’s great hearing a real Australian accent coming through the headphones.
    Hopefully you’ll come to SSK one time that I’m there – Cityrail wasn’t playing nicely last weekend unfortunately.

    Comment by JulieB | 13 November 2006 | Reply

  22. I have to totally agree with you about Father Ted. It has to be one of the most bizarre yet strangely comforting shows out there. I have to admit I really didn’t get it the first few times I watched but I was soon hooked. Have you ever seen Chef? Another amazing comedy from the BBC. Keep up the great work with the podcast!
    Shannon

    Comment by shannon | 14 November 2006 | Reply

  23. Another great podcast! I really enjoyed the essay and the music. When you get to the second sock I will be interested to hear if you think it knits up faster than the first one. Seems like mine do anyway. I agree with the idea that a little ignorance can be helpful. I knitted my first sweater last year for my daughter going off to college and she kept changing how she wanted it to look (sure, we can change that … what could possibly go wrong?)and in the end it did not have the slightest resemblance to the pattern but was cute anyway.
    Thanks again … listen to you next week!!

    Comment by Meg | 14 November 2006 | Reply

  24. Thanks for another great episode David. I’m another one who can relate to the essay-I’ve found this with many crafts (not just knitting). As long as something comes with good, clear instructions it’s doable-knowing a thing is supposed to be “hard” can cause all sorts of unnecessary stress. Looking forward to next week and seeing how you did in the spinning shop.

    Comment by Leonie | 14 November 2006 | Reply

  25. Hi David!

    I’ve tried emailing you through The Circle knitting podcasting message ring, but can’t seem to get through. Maybe your spam filter is set too high? Are you having trouble getting any of the other messages from the group?

    Anyway, I want your promo to play on my show next week. Can you send me the mp3 file? Thanks!

    Your most recent show inspired the theme for my show next week. (Can’t remember why, and you probably won’t see a connection if you heard the show, but it’s true.) =)

    ~Faith AKA The Knitting Cook

    Comment by Faith | 14 November 2006 | Reply

  26. I learned to spin first and then had all this yarn that needed something done with it. Knitting is one result. As I listened to your podcast this morning, I was knitting a sock from some of my handspun yarn 🙂 and wondering if, once you do the same, you’d feel as enthusiastic about knitting with commercial yarn. Anyway, as you suspect, walking into a spinning shop can be as dangerous as walking into a knitting shop, and all these “roads” lead to the same end – enjoyment working with fiber, expressing yourself through fiber, feeling pleasure and satisfaction when working with fiber.

    Susan from Tucson, AZ, USA

    Comment by Susan | 15 November 2006 | Reply

  27. Thanks for the podcast.
    i may get brave and try more things now. 🙂

    Comment by Wacky Lisa | 16 November 2006 | Reply

  28. David
    What a wonderful podcast. You have a wonderful voice and a great attitude.
    I am Irish (Dublin born) and live in the US. I love Father Ted and I’m glad to hear that some Australians love it too. Don’t forget to mention, although it is produced in Britain, it is written by Irish writers and acted by Irish actors/actresses. I have the whole series too. It sure does make me laugh and homesick at the same time.
    I love listening to you and your wonderful Australian voice.
    Keep up the good work.
    Clare

    Comment by Clare | 16 November 2006 | Reply

  29. Thanks for pointing out the Father Ted DVDs. I didn’t know you could get them. Thanks for a great podcast.

    Comment by Sonja | 16 November 2006 | Reply

  30. Found you via both CastOn and LimenViolet… and you’re a nice addition to that mix of wonderful voices! I too liked the sock-stance image, and was giggling out loud in the coffee shop where I was spending a couple hours knitting between jobs.

    My knitting-related recollection of Australia was from my one visit to Sydney in 2002 to play waterpolo during the Gay Games.. and I really wanted to find a yarn store! Wound up going on a long bus ride to some area of the city I don’t even remember other than it was across the bridge… and bought some possum yarn! The perfect souvenir of my trip! Sydney is the only other city I’ve been to in the world that I can see myself living in (I’m in Vancouver, BC, Canada now…).. and I hope to go back some day 🙂 (hey, ever been to Vancouver? I just met a Sydneyite who feels the same way about this city..)

    Just downloading the earlier podcasts now, can’t wait to listen later tonight 🙂 Thanks so much!

    X.

    Comment by christagiles | 16 November 2006 | Reply

  31. Hi David!
    I’ve really been enjoying your podcast. I’ve got to look for that itty bitty hat book,as I’ve got several new nieces and nephews, plus I think Half my friends are currently pregnant!

    Father Ted is great! It is one of those shows that I take out again and again and it cracks me up every time!

    Keep up the good work,
    Eileen

    Comment by Eileen | 17 November 2006 | Reply

  32. Hey David,
    If you didn’t get that ball winder yet I have a cheap solution for you. I found it on one of my flickr.com clubs.
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/knitting/discuss/72157594364884186/
    its a way to make a center pull yarn ball.

    Enjoy,
    Rebecca in Ohio USA

    Comment by Rebecca | 23 November 2006 | Reply

  33. Dear David:
    Found your podcast on iTunes and was instantly enchanted. Listened to all in one afternoon. And now I have to ask, what’s a jumper? I can only imagine the awfull plaid wool dress (jumper) I wore in Catholic school. (not a good imagine) Your site needs your picture…..not to worry, I’m not a stalker

    A fan from Sacramento, California
    Billie Parish

    P.S. Enjoy your musical selections…….

    Comment by Billie Parish | 26 November 2006 | Reply

  34. […] Just Cast On […]

    Pingback by Needles & Knots » Blog Archive » My Sentiments Exactly | 2 December 2006 | Reply

  35. I’ve just found your podcast, and have been catching up. I’m only up to ep 3 so far, but I just had to stop listening to drop you a comment about Father Ted. I love Father Ted, and have had my eyes on the DVDs for a while.
    I’ve lived in Canada all my life, but was raised by my British parents so I have a deep love of all those English comedies.
    Favourite Dougal moment has to be the ‘this cow is very small/that cow is far away’ scene in the caravan.
    It’s great to hear a guy’s perspective on knitting, please keep the podcast going!

    Comment by Heather | 9 December 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

