Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Mid week update (1 November)

Wow! What a few days. When I finally got the first podcast file uploaded really late on Saturday night I sighed a sigh of relief and went to bed. Next morning I awoke and checked on the number of downloads, one – and that was me checking it worked. So I ran the file just to see what it sounded like, and found a minor problem – most of the audio was wrong. I now know that you can’t have two files with the same name in Audition, if you do, it replaces the old one with the new one. Quickly I removed the file, fixed the problem and got the new file up. Then I spent the rest of the day obsessing about how many people (that I hadn’t told) might have found and downloaded it. It got to two.

Today, it’s taken off, I’m now sure that some people I don’t already know have at least downloaded the file, phew! 🙂

On the knitting front, I spent a lot of today supervising exams, so my first sock is on the home straight, literally, I turned the heel on the way to work and spent the day decreasing the instep and watching people type answers. You’ll hear all about the sock in Show 2.

Thanks very much to everyone who has sent an email or left a comment, it’s really made this a good week. If you’re a member of a knitting group and would like a mention, please let me know, it doesn’t have to be an Australian group; and if anyone knows of any upcoming events I’d love to include them too.

Barring disasters, Show 2 should be available around lunchtime on Saturday (Sydney time).

David.

1 November 2006 - Posted by | knitting, Podcasting

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Dave,

    Pleased to see another Aussie Knitting Blogger up and going and a local as well! Mary Helen put me on to you so I hope we can catch up at SSK one day.
    I’ve had a bit of trouble getting an RSS feed though – it gives this error message
    “This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.”
    I haven’t been able to find it on Itunes either but I’ll just have to download it direct.
    I look forward to hearing more episodes.

    Comment by Kate | 2 November 2006 | Reply

  2. Knitting and Australia? Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!! I am so excited about this one- spent a glorious semester in Perth in 98…. no knitting back then though….. Got you in itunes now- and can’t wait for the next episode!!!!

    Comment by Nadine | 4 November 2006 | Reply

  3. Hi David, loved the podcast. You have a good radio voice (and a nice Aussie accent). Thank you for investing your time in this show. Must warn you for your socks, though. Once you start wearing handknit socks, your feet won’t like the others any more. Give your cats hugs – I don’t mind hearing them in the background. Greatings from Holland

    Comment by Jenneke | 6 November 2006 | Reply

  4. Hi Dave

    another stray from Cast-On. Listen to both your shows, one after another, on Saturday. Enjoyed them a lot and so will be adding yours to my growing list of knitting PodCasts. I have to say it does seem to make the knitting go quicker listening to them. I am slowly giving up radio in favour of these little but perfectly formed gems. Looking forward to the next one.

    All the best from London UK

    PS I’ve had to download it direct [same error message as Kate above received in the RSS feed] – not that this bothers me. I have been down loading Cast-On direct for the last six months. I’ve only discovered what a RSS feed is!

    Comment by John | 7 November 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

