Sticks & String

A podcast by an Australian bloke who knits.

Hello All

G’day. I’m David Reidy and this is Sticks & String, the blog that will eventually be linked to my knitting podcast.

I’m still getting ready for the podcast, selecting music, trying to find a theme, and making sure that the sound quality is as good as I can make it. I don’t think my current set up will do the job because although the mic works well, it is mounted on the headphones and I tend to get creaking noises if I open my mouth too far; I’m hoping the noises are from the headset. Also, I’d like to be able to do outside broadcast recording, so I think one of the new digital recorders might be the way to go, and if my cat hadn’t broken his leg, I’d have one already.

 I doubt many people are going to see this before the podcast comes out, but if you happen to have stumbled upon it and want to leave a message, please feel free. Also, if you have any opinions about which digital recorder would do a good job for 2 person interviews for use in the podcast, I love to hear from you.

 David.

21 October 2006 - Posted by | knitting, Podcasting

7 Comments »

  1. I have no info on how to do podcasts, but want to learn as well. Hope to “hear” you sometime. Good luck with the blog and the podcast.

    Best,
    firefly

    Comment by firefly8868 | 22 October 2006

  2. Good luck with the blog and podcast. I have no idea about how to do a podcast, but I can’t wait to see/hear the finished product.

    I just got back into knitting and can use all the help I can get!

    Comment by dragonmommie | 23 October 2006

  3. Heard about you via Brenda’s site at Cast On. You are closer than she is (‘we’ is in NZ!) and I look forward to keeping up with the show.

    Comment by Marjorie | 6 November 2006

  4. Heard about you via Brenda’s site at Cast On. You are closer than she is (‘we’ is in NZ!) and we look forward to keeping up with the show. We? Me, Peanut, Sooty, Cuzz and Little ‘Un – al, like yours, cool cats!

    Comment by Marjorie | 6 November 2006

  5. Heard about you via Brenda’s site at Cast On. You are closer than she is (‘we’ is in NZ!) and we look forward to keeping up with the show. We? Me, Peanut, Sooty, Cuzz and Little ‘Un – al, like yours, cool cats! Is the leg better (the cat’s that is!)

    Comment by Marjorie | 6 November 2006

  6. Hi David,

    I just listened to your new podcast and I love it. It is refreshing to hear a man’s voice discussing knitting. I heard about you on Brenda Dayne’s Cast On.

    Good luck to you, and I have subscribed through itunes!

    Best,
    Susan B. Anderson

    Comment by Susan B. Anderson | 10 November 2006

  7. Go you!!! David, this is Mel the knitting teacher from T.C. Because I’m an old nag and because I’ve had two bubbas, I, at the moment am a little on the chubby side (as you know). The only way I can make it through my treadmill sessions at the gym is to listen to knitting podcasts until my half hour of walking on that god-forsaken thing is over. I’ve listened to Texans, I’ve listened to Welsh knitters and now I’m happy to say I will be listening to you. Congrats.

    Comment by mel | 12 November 2006


Leave a Reply

